We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The motel room are little and not perfectly clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Madison Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Madison Hotel
Save
You added The Historic Madison Hotel to your Saves list
139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Monza, Lombardia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The motel room are little and not perfectly clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We reserved a room in the motel.
They charged 5 dollar more then the reservation.
The room is ok but really little.
A problem: only one plug available in all the room and not plugs in the bathroom.
The bathroom was ok, but I had not the feeling of a perfect cleanliness (some hairs and an open bar of soap in the shower).
If you need a "cheap" (75$ on July) location in west yellowstone this motel is for you.... but if you can avoid...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We didn't plan on staying a night in West Yellowstone, but it was getting dark. There are 3 Best Westerns in town so we called central reservations and all 3 were full. I'm so glad they were, because for 50% less money ($99) we ended up in a motel room at the Madison.

The motel has 2 parts, both are historic. The oldest is a log structure from the teens and the "newer" section is a classic, americana roadside motel. The room was quiet, but also had a good white noise producing air conditioner, which I find necessary to sleep.

The pizza and beer were good at the micro brew-pub at one of the Best Westerns on the main drag. I think it was called the Wolf's Den or something like that.

  • Liked — Character
  • Disliked — Noise from garbage trucks in the early morning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

I stayed in the historic part of the hotel in the "hostel" part. I had a room with a double bed and sink, but a shared toilet and shower.

The shower area was clean and well kept. If you have stayed in a hostel before or a place with a shared shower it would be no problem.

The room was very small and "well worn" with a hint of a musty smell. The double bed sagged in the middle when we slept on it (that just happens to be a pet peeve of mine). There is no free breakfast. There is an A/C unit in the wall.

It has a great location right at the West Entrance of Yellowstone, next to a lot of little shops.

The #1 reason I went was because it was much cheaper than any other hotel I could find - about $50 compared to $80.

There is internet but you have to pay for it. (I didn't use it.)

Aside from the size of the room, and the slightly worn feel to the room, the "historic" part of the building is actually pretty cool looking. I would stay again, if only to sacrifice a little of the comfort of a chain hotel for savings.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Tiny room, very "worn" in furnishings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Looking for a place to stay for one night before heading into Yellowstone. Stayed in a double room in the motel section. The room was small, but had 2 beds, well stocked bathroom with shampoos, soaps, etc..., TV, and was really quiet, considering it was on the main strip. When all other hotels we looked at were double the cost, this was perfect. Just a few minutes away from the West Entrance of Yellowstone.

  • Liked — Price and close to Park entrance
  • Disliked — Room was small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas,NV
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Great little hotel, but don’t expect the whole package. My room had the basics; TV, bed, bathroom, ac. No telephone and cell service is limited to two carries. Very close to everything. In walking distances to all everything you need. And about 3 minutes away from the Yellowstone Park’s Entrance. The only thing I can say bad about the Madison is the drapes don’t cover the top of the AC‘s unit and the sun does shine right into your room.

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

What a find! A historic log hotel, beautifully kept up with loads of character. Super clean. Private rooms with bath, and also mini "dorm" rooms with 3-4 beds and shared bath, available in old historic section. Newer section also. I enjoyed mountain views.

Very central location in town and to entrance to park just down the road.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Madison Hotel

Address: 139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Historic Madison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.