We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Rustic Charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Madison Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Madison Hotel
139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old Rustic Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Great location. Right down town and just down the street from the West Yellowstone entrance. The rooms upstairs in the Historic part of the Hotel are very charming in the sense of decoration and your basic amenities. Some have private baths and some do not. That is a choice you can make when booking your room on their website. The rooms upstairs do not have TV. So if that is important to you I'd suggest booking in the newer Motel area or select a different establishment. The pictures are very true to what you will get. In respects to the noise. The rooms upstairs DO have very thin walls. The rooms also have what feel like the old springboard mattresses. Whether this is true or not, I'm not sure. I forgot to look. Noise around us didnt seem to bother us since we travel with earplugs anyway....but I didn't sleep well due to the springy mattress.

Having to walk through the shop to get to the Reservation desk is different. Felt very cluttered. There is a TON of stuff in their shop.

The following morning I asked to take a look at a couple of their other rooms behind the establishment...the Motel area. Next time I may book in these rooms. They have the similar rustic style but more of your standard size room with TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The rooms upstairs are small, old, rustic with log walls and log beds which at first seem appealing in that rugged western appeal. However, the frames are not sturdy and ready to fall apart, the beds are horribly uncomfortable and the windows drafty. The very crowded room is a guarenteed toe stub. There's no TV in the room and lucky if you can get one with a bathroom. Lighting is poor and the stairways are an accident waiting to happen, overall I did not have a safe or comfortable feeling the entire time I was there. The high point would be the water pressure in the shower, other than that, I'd have to pass on recommending the rooms upstairs to anyone, maybe with new carpet, beds and windows, it'd be a nice stop over. No breakfast offered, only coffee and hot chocolate, for the price you'd think they would offer something, maybe even a discount in the store, but they don't.

Room Tip: honestly, you'd probably be better off staying inside the park, cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros: Centrally located near everything allowing guests to walk around the town instead of driving, except to Yellowstone of course.

Maintenance person was very nice and accommodating.

Cons: This hotel's pictures of the motel part (I cannot speak for the hotel or the hostels) make it look much more charming than what it is when you actually see the room. I have stayed in many older motels with lots of charm. This one is not worth the expensive rate they charge for what you get. The owner tries the log cabin theme with all the rooms. However, the motel rooms are 1/2 done. This means that the inside starts to look like a log cabin but the outside looks like an old 1950s motel needing lots of updates.

The refrigerators in both rooms could not be used as one was extremely old and nasty looking and both smelled like someone left spoiled milk in them.

The bedspreads were not what the picture shows. We had a fuzzy throw blanket on the beds in one room which is ok if they fit the bed properly and a person is not allergic to the fuzz.

The parking is atrocious! There are not enough spots for the rooms and very difficult to maneuver a vehicle to get out.

No breakfast included but free coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate.

I would not stay at this motel again unless the rates dropped significantly and more is done to the rooms and parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great beds, lots of counter space for sink and microwave. Fridge in room. You can walk to restaurants, groceries, visitors center, Inaccurate, etc. The hotel part is an historic building with large gift shop, well-maintained and interesting. Only negatives for us, thin towels and noisy air-conditioning. Not important enough for me to not book there again. Love the friendly, casual attitude of the staff.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The historic Madison Hotel is a throw back to West Yellowstone from decades past. The hotel gives you that "old Western charm" that is missing from many of its surrounding counterparts. The rooms are modest but clean. In order to meet the needs of customers, many rooms are being updated. The property serves both as a hotel and hostel. The large open porch and living room provide common areas where family and friends can gather in any weather. The reservation, check in, and check out processes are easy and simple. The owner is often on the property and willing to suggest local day trips and guides in Yellowstone Park. The price of the rooms makes vacationing on a budget possible because it does not provide all of the bells and whistles of their competitiors. Since rooms do not offer televisions, guests are able to embrace the views of the surrounding area and relax without the constant infusion of technology. We have stayed at the hotel for the past two summers while hiking and fishing in the greater Yellowstone area with family. On both occassions we used the hotel as our "base camp" while day tripping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I could not have been happier with my stay at the Madison Hotel! I stayed one night in a "Female Dormitory" room. I only had one roommate for the night which was nice, tho the room is big enough that three would have been fine. The rooms were quaint, with a couple log walls, antique dresser and chair, and a sink, which was nice. Down the hall was the restroom and there were two separate shower rooms that were quite roomy with places to put your things while you shower. For being a hostel type hotel I was surprised with some of the nice amenities - blow dryers in the restroom and shower rooms, individual shampoos, and didn't have to pay extra for sheets/towels (that were surprisingly good quality!). When I checked in the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Note that the front desk is not manned 24 hours a day so plan your arrival accordingly!! The hotel is older but if you think that means it has character then you'll love your stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

First, the +s are great location, homesy, shampoo supplied, good bed, nice ladies at the desk, community hot cocoa machine and microwave, and two rooms with the bathtub room being huge. The -s are no telephone in the rooms (community free phone by a door), no TV in the room, old western style oval, high sided bathtub with no shower of course (remember the bathtub that Eastwood got shot at by the woman in Hang Em High I think...that is this tub), lighting in the room not the best, and you have to park on the street (free though).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Madison Hotel

Address: 139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Also Known As:
Historic Madison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Historic Madison Hotel to your Saves list