We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, basic service, tourist prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beartooth Barbecue

Beartooth Barbecue
111 N. Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406.646.0227
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food, basic service, tourist prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is dependable food but arrive knowing that you would get better BBQ at home, for less money, from a chain like Dickey's or or Famous Dave's. A bread plate of greens costs $5 and there are two BBQ sauce options at the table, both very average. AmEx is not accepted. We were in and out in less than 35 minutes during the 6:00 hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    100
    52
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not much choice in West Yellowstone & had eaten at Madriz the night before. Sounds like if you avoid the pulled dishes you should be ok. My ribs were good. Service & meal quick. Book to avoid waiting in the street for a table. Surprised it's so low on Tripadvisor list. Don't be put off by it's listing. If you don't like Tapas eat here, but Madriz is so much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Many times the bbq is smothered in bbq sauce..This came with just the smoked meat and you added the sauce you wanted. Wonderful flavor. We had the pulled pork and pulled brisket. Both were great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Center, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, quick meal-nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The service was really great here, and the people who were working were really nice. That said, I don't think the food was that great, but it probably depends who you ask. My pulled chicken sandwich was pretty much just chunks of chicken, which wasn't what I was expecting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleil2jours
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good meal, good advice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the Midwest pulled pork apparently comes all drenched in sauce so I'd never ordered it before. I decided when in Rome... and tried it. It was great and the spicy sauce was delicious, not just hot. The tabouleh was a unique side and lent a bit of freshness. Our waitress was really insightful on the beer selection and even made a great ice cream recommendation we followed up on the next night (I forget the name, but it is two doors down).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beartooth Barbecue also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Beartooth Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beartooth Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.