We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, good advice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beartooth Barbecue

Beartooth Barbecue
111 N. Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406.646.0227
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
soleil2jours
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good meal, good advice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the Midwest pulled pork apparently comes all drenched in sauce so I'd never ordered it before. I decided when in Rome... and tried it. It was great and the spicy sauce was delicious, not just hot. The tabouleh was a unique side and lent a bit of freshness. Our waitress was really insightful on the beer selection and even made a great ice cream recommendation we followed up on the next night (I forget the name, but it is two doors down).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    52
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmm good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great brisket and tabbouleh! I remarked to our server that it was unusual to have tabbouleh as a side at a BBQ restaurant. She said the owner's mother-in-law is Lebanese. It was delicious!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very casual dining. Michael, who I believe must have been the owner, waited on us. Food was priced a bit steep, but heck you're in a tourist area. Quality of food was excellent and the selection of beer and wine was good. Went there twice while in Yellowstone so that tells you something. Incidentally, I ordered the cob salad which had barbequed chicken in it. It was so large I couldn't finish it. The rest of my party had the pulled pork sandwiches and loved them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONDS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have eaten here many times and it is always delicious! Love the pulled meat sandwiches - you can tell it is the real meat that they served sliced on the other sandwiches. The brisket is delicious and the variety of sauces is great. I love the tabuli salad, a little lemony but really good and refreshing with the BBQ. The staff is great, nice and friendly and attentive. It's not cheap but it's worth it. Don't confuse this place with the other BBQ in town - this is the best by far.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the pulled pork and chicken. Both of us enjoyed our meals. Service was prompt and friendly. We hit the timing just right apparently - on our way out there were many people waiting. The restaurant is small and on the noisy side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beartooth Barbecue also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Beartooth Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beartooth Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.