We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable and close to local activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Three Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Three Bear Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very reasonable and close to local activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've been to their excellent restuarant many times but never stayed at the lodge. We were not disappointed. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. I received a military discount which I appreciated. We stayed in one of the outside ground rooms and They were very comfortable and clean. They had all the ammenities; satelite tv, fridge, microwave, coffee. The restuarant is right next door and is one of my 2 favorite places to eat in West Yellowstone. The lodge is convenient to the downtown shops and museums. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    153
    83
    15
    10
See reviews for
163
165
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

West Yellowstone is a great location for visiting Yellowstone. We stayed 4 nights in the motel area in July of 2013. We can't say anything real bad about it, but nothing exciting either. Basic rooms, nice heated pool, reasonably priced breakfast at the adjacent restaurant. In short, adequate, if you spend most of your time traveling in the national park, but not more. The price was very high, but so is everything else this time of year...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to have a great place to lay down to sleep. Beds were nice and comfortable. Rooms were new and spacious. The only thing missing was two bathrooms. The main lodge is new after a fire a few years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Three Bear Lodge was a welcome site after driving 20 hours from Illinois. We have stayed there before and used to be part of the Three Bear Family of employees. The new section is nice with clean comfortable rooms. I am somewhat spoiled by recent stays in a Condo that offer two bathrooms but Three Bear did not promise me two bathrooms so it was all good. The staff were great as always with only a few faces I still knew. Thank you for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure you know what section of the Hotel you are booking. The main lodge rooms are brand new sinc...
See more room tips
Green Features: It appears that the staff led by Travis and the owners are well on the road of being an environmentally friendly place to stay.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us. It was great to see you and your family.
Thanks for the review as well.
We get asked about 2 bathrooms, but we do not have any rooms with 2 baths. Only rooms with 3 queens and even one with 4 queen beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in early August 13 in one of the "motel" rooms that are cheaper, versus the "lodge" rooms. These rooms are like what you would expect from a motel--you drive up and park in front of your door and there is no corridor or anything to the room. However, the finishes are well above that of a typical cheap motel. Our room had 2 rooms and 2 beds--one king and one double or queen. The second bedroom was pretty tiny. Both rooms had TVs and a place to store clothing. The first bedroom had a dresser and closet, and the second bedroom had a dresser and a rack on the wall to act like a closet. There was also a fridge in the room. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was pretty clean in the important ways, but not completely spotless. I'm not used to sleeping in a motel, and I'm from a big city, so I wasn't thrilled about the door exiting directly into a kind of alley (that is the parking area between the restaurant and the hotel). Otherwise, though, we didn't spend much time in the room...so it was a clean and safe place to sleep for a few nights, no more and no less. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant with a coupon--reasonable and hearty and good to start the day off with!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate all feedback. I especially liked your photos. It's nice for others to see what you experienced, not just the photos we have selected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A fun, rustic, well located hotel right in the town of West Yellowstone.

It's modest, but a good family hotel. Old yellowstone historical items in the lobby. Rooms have nice old reclaimed wood head-boards in the rooms.

Great breakfast restaurant... The best in West Yellowstone.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your response and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let others know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were on a motorcycle ride from Oklahoma to the Grant Tetons and Yellowstone. This little tourist town is just outside the West entrance to Yellowstone. We had a nice, comfortable king size bed. Fridge and microwave and a Huge Jacuzzi for two in our room. We paid about $125.00 for a week night. That is about average for hotel/motels near Yellowstone. The give you a coupon for each guest for $3.00 off breakfast at their restaurant. Breakfast was about $9.00 per person without the coupon.

Room Tip: We were on a motorcycle so we requested a room that we could park the bike right in front of our roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have notes posted suggesting you hang up your towels to reuse them. They also suggest that you use the linens on the bed several days. They will come clean the room and make the bed with the same linens unless you request fresh sheets. (No extra cost for fresh towels and sheets.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.