We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Yellowstone Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Three Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Three Bear Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Visit to Yellowstone Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not being familiar with the area, I was not sure where to stay for our week's trip to Yellowstone Park. After much searching and not wanting to stay at a chain hotel, the Three bears was very appealing. I was right. Unique hotel with good services and clean comfortable rooms. The bathrooms at the motel area are a bit outdated but clean. The location was perfect for us. Very close to the park's west entrance. Their is a good restaurant for breakfast next to the hotel.. Can't remember the name.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    153
    83
    15
    10
See reviews for
164
165
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moose jaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in early October, 2012. We had one of the motel rooms with a king bed and 2 queen beds. It was clean and comfortable, and we appreciated having the extra bed as we are a family of 5. There was a microwave, fridge and 2 tvs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the motel park of "Three Bear Lodge" in a jacuzzi room. The room was set up nicely and was clean. Nothing really fancy but comfortable king size bed.

The internet access was a little tricky to get connected. Needed to call theirtech support to connect me but once connected was fine.

The only thing we did not like was there was an office chair for the desk which had arms on it so it could not slide underneath the desk. It stuck out and was right in the way when you had to walk to the bathroom and along side the jacuzzi tub. You had to squeeze by. This was easily rectified by moving the chair to a corner of the room. Which made the room feel a bit more cramped as you had to find room for an extra chair. Other then that the stay and room was fine.

Room Tip: Excellent location for Yellowstond Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

4 of us stayed here for 3 nights late September 2012 (2 couples). Just loved the ambience of the main lodge building. It is a very large place and all their rooms seem to occupy a whole block. We stayed to the rear of the main building and that was fine. Ample parking. Rooms were terrific, clean with cumfy beds. We ate breakfast in the restaurant attached to the main building and that was great. We would certainly recommend others to stay here and do as we did, drive into the park daily. Most of the businesses were due to close down for the winter season within a week of our departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in the motel property in the back of the lodge. We stayed 4 nights in a 2 Queen close to the back door of the restaurant. The room was very clean, with all the necessary amenities including a microwave and fridge. Only drawback to the room is it's a little cramped with the 2 beds. But with just 2 adults not a big deal. The shower was good with plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. TV is a flat screen and a little fuzzy but not bad. The hotels were all booked up so it was very busy in restaurants and around town in general. We were not disturbed by any noise at all during our stay. The location of Three Bear is excellent. Walking distance to shops and food. The entrance to Yellowstone is maybe a 1/4 mile, if that. We enjoyed our stay very much. At less than $70 a night and not a single issue we couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The newer lodge portion of this establishment is quite nice. We had a large room, free internet that actually worked well, and nice, newer amenities. The coffee in the lobby was really good! That NEVER happens. We tried the restaurant next door a couple of times and it was just okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I decided to take my kids on a last minute trip to Yellowstone. Three bear motel was literally the only place available to book a room in West Yellowstone, as everything was closed or sold out. The staff was friendly, and the rooms are clean, but pretty old. The wallpaper is peeling in the bathroom and it's a little strange to have carpet up to the door in a motel that gets as much rain and snow as Yellowstone does. I'm sure the carpet is pretty disgusting from the years of snowmobilers and other guests, tracking in snow and mud. That said, it's not too bad for the price, and my kids are happy and having fun! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.