We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowstone Inn
Save Saved
You added Yellowstone Inn to your Saves list
601 Highway Avenue, West Yellowstone, Mt, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in cabin 1 for 8 nights...using it as a base to explore the park. It slept our family of 6 comfortably. There is an extra sink area in the bedroom, which is a bonus. It was very clean, updated and well stocked with free items. The freebies at the front desk are a nice bonus also. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The only thing that would have been nice is a bigger kitchen. It has all you need to cook, but it's very, very, very small. More like a kitchenette...mini fridge, stove, oven and microwave...even the sink is tiny. We had to store our dry goods on the fireplace mantle since there was nowhere else. The kitchen area is against a wall, and is only 4 or 5 feet across. We made due though, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one time. Room was comfortable enough but a bit cramped. We found many large beetles in the room. When we mentioned this to the manager just shrugged it off. Rooms were not made up daily.

At $150/day incl. tax, we felt it was overpriced. And they didn't even smile at us once!

Humph!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Yellowstone Inn is charming, clean and comfortable place to stay. Each of the rooms or cabins are unique The host is friendly and helpful. We stayed in cabin 6 and our friends were in cabin10. West Yellowstone is a wonderful base to explore the national park.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our room was upgraded upon arrival. It was larger than expected with a sofa, 2 queen beds and sitting chairs and a fireplace. Room was clean and well maintained. I had a problem with the window air conditioner knob breaking off, but the owner swapped the unit out promptly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a small cabinlike facility on the far NW corner of West Yellowstone. It is on the edge of the town and not real convenient to services, restaurants, museums, etc, but the advantage of this is that it is away from the noise and touristy activities of the main streets. In other words, unless you have the time and want a little bit of a hike, you pretty much have to drive to eat or see the retail establishments of W Yellowstone.

The unit we were in was very compact. We have 5 in our family and the 2 queen beds fit 4 of us reasonably, but putting in a small cot that we had with us for the 5th made the room really tight. I had asked the proprieter of the Inn during my reservation if there was room for a small cot and he made it sound like doing this in (I think it was room 2) the room would be no problem. This was a moderate disappointment. We brought some of our food with us, especially breakfasts, and there is no space in the room to sit other than on a bed and one small chair and a very small table. There was a nice convenience refrigerator in the room.

The room was clean, a little must in the air when we entered and the bathroom as compact as the rest of the room. It was rustic with wood (probably pine) T&G on the walls, which is appropriate for Idaho/Montana/Wyoming.
Overall it was OK. I would consider returning, but also would look into other accommodations upon my return to this part of the country. It was reasonably priced especially compared with accommodations inside the park with similar or lesser features.

Room Tip: The room (I think it was #2) that we were in was very small. More fit for a couple (it does have 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We wanted a convenient place to stay for a whirlwind 1.5-day tour of Yellowstone, and Yellowstone Inn met our needs. We had a wonderful little room, complete with a fireplace (which was a lovely touch, even though we didn't start it). The room becomes a little stuffy if the air is not turned on upon arrival--I might even suggest opening the window. The location was handy for our needs, and we avoided the high prices of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had cabin 1 sleeping 6. It was large enough for us using the sofa sleeper. Had a kitchenette. Kids loved the free samples. Walls are thin so you can hear people in other units. Not bad enough to disrupt our sleep though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Inn

Address: 601 Highway Avenue, West Yellowstone, Mt, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The yellowstone inn has cabins and rooms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.