We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Branch Restaurant & Bar

The Branch Restaurant & Bar
315 Yellowstone Avenue, inside the Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
+1 406-646-7365
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Westward expansion brought rail travel and ranches to the Continental Divide, where cowboys (and today’s national park visitors) could live the dream of a horizon-free lifestyle. Inspired by the natural beauty of Yellowstone, the Branch Restaurant celebrates “Open Range Cuisine” where beef and game dishes are infused with local flavor and enjoyed with a selection of regional microbrews and hand-crafted premium cocktails. A selection of tasty vegetarian and gluten-free options are available.The restaurant boasts casual attire, seats on a first-come-first-served basis and does not accept reservations. Children's menus and box lunches are available. The Branch Restaurant & Bar is the ideal locale to enjoy a delicious dinner while recounting the day's exploration of Yellowstone National Park.Open daily, year-round.
Walkertown
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great atmosphere; food was good; the burgers can be ordered with beef, bison, grilled chicken breast, or veggie. The free seasoned, potato chippers are delicious!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at The Branch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Rjr012,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and menu options. We will make sure and pass your compliments along to our staff. We hope that you can make your way back to The Branch Restaurant to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    31
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“So Many Better Places...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Dirty carpets, totally disinterested wait staff that literally threw the menus on the table and walked away and didn't come back for 10 minutes. Mediocre food that was uninspired and over priced...and then we had to wait forEVER for the waiter to come back and take the check so we could settle up and get the H**l out of there.

West Yellowstone has two things: lodging and restaurants. Skip this restaurant altogether and you will have a better experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at The Branch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Architeuthis,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine with us at The Branch Restaurant. We are very sorry for the level of service you experienced. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we will be making improvements for all our future guests. We truly appreciate guest feedback, especially when their experience was less than satisfactory. We hope that you are willing to consider this a one time incident. We strive to offer a high level of service and food exceeds all expectations. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, we hope that you make your way back to West Yellowstone in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average food and pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went here for our Valentine's day dinner. The food was average and the prices were consistent with hotel restaurant pricing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at The Branch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Greetings Gdudik,
Thank you for the review and for choosing to dine with us on Valentine's day, they both mean a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Buddies and I stayed here when in town for a snowmobiling trip. Great bar and restaurant. We had a great time!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at The Branch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Jeffery,

Thank you for the review of your dining experience with us at The Branch Restaurant. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your prime rib and time while dining with us. Thank you again, please come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but a little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The restaurant had a very nice ambiance, and the food was very good. However, it was a little pricey for our liking. We ordered the wild game sausage sampler, which was three average-sized sausage links for $15. The bar menu is much more reasonably priced, so make sure you look at that. We had a nice dinner, but a tab of over $100 for four adults who were not overly indulging themselves was a little much.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Branch Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to The Branch Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Branch Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.