We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak - Hasn't Changed in 9 Years!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eino's Bar - CLOSED

Eino's Bar
8955 Gallatin Road, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406-646-9344
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: At Hi Country Tavern and Grill, we give a new meaning to "Have It Your Way". We provide fresh cut steaks, burgers, hot dogs and polish sausage... All cooked to your liking because YOU ARE THE CHEF! If you have never been here before, it will truly be a whole new experience for you! Forget sending back your food cause it is not cooked to your liking, you get to season, cook and enjoy all on your own time! In the winter, we provide green salad or our famous Cheesy Potatoes as a side. In the summer, we provide green salad or homemade pasta salad.If you don't want to cook yourself, DON'T WORRY! We have personal size pizza and fried appetizers that are always available! Our staff is here to do whatever we can so you leave our restaurant with a full stomach and a smile on your face!
Toquerville UT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Steak - Hasn't Changed in 9 Years!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were in W, Yellowstone 9 years ago and really enjoyed our meal here. When visiting this time we had to be sure to go again and we weren't disappointed. There were 4 of us and we ordered two large Porterhouse Steaks. You cook these yourself on the inside grill and it comes with a salad (excellent) and fresh bread..

The place ain't fancy but the steaks are as good as it gets. They drive 50 miles to get their beef!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great people, great food, a lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband worked in the park years ago and when we decided to go back for 2 weeks he said that we had to go to Eino's for steak. After visiting a few different steak places between Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park I was VERY happy with my husband's recommendation. We were able to chat with locals and visitors while cooking our steaks and enjoying a few beverages. A place like this really allows you to be social and enjoy your outing compared to being seated and having your food and beverages brought to you. Did I mention that I loved sitting at a long table and sharing stories about the sites and animal observations? This is not just a bar...it is a place to take your family and friends for a good time. Please visit this place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Not a Vic &Anthony's Steakhouse but the steak was just as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

A shopkeeper in town recommended this restaurant while we were in West Yellowstone snowmobiling with the family. Our first impression was not too great, looked more like bar than a restaurant. Nevertheless, we went inside and placed our order for food at the bar. The owner is a little gruff but comical. The selection of steaks was as good as I’ve seen at fine steakhouses. The atmosphere is more like a bar that serves steaks than a steakhouse that has a bar. We set with some “locals” that kept us entertained with some comedy and exploits of their day.

Overall I will go back and enjoy another steak next time we’re in the area. This is not a Vic and Anthony's Steakhouse but the steak was just as good.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were in West Yellowstone for five days - went there twice. Great steak - we loved the "hole in the wall" type atmosphere. Prices are pretty cheap (YES, you do cook your own steak - buy they provide the fixins and the quality of the steak - porterhouse - was great). First time we went he was going to close early and he stayed open 30min past closing time for us as we ate and drank beer...

Not for everyone, but my wife and two kids (11 and 14) loved it. Also, it is not some drunken bar like was suggested in Fodors. And AGAIN, we did go twice - just loved it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great time. It's an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Eino's is one of those places that is a true experience. Walk in, grab a beer or cocktail, get a plate with a raw steak and have a great conversation while you are grilling. The owner is working on preparing a beautiful fresh salad. Sit around a large table and enjoy a great steak, garlic bread and salad with your group. Maybe it is a little expensive (less than $20.00 per person) since you have to do your own cooking, but it is a great cut of meat, great atmosphere (very,very casual) and it would cost this much or more to just get a raw steak like this in a grocery in west yellowstone area. Not for the faint of heart or children!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eino's Bar also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eino's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.