We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outpost Restaurant

Outpost Restaurant
115 Yellowstone Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406.646.7303
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Stuart, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Very Clean and most of all VERY friendly empoyees.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    55
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“If your priority is finding a salad bar, this might be the place for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The items and choices in the salad bar were a little slim, and any Izzy's or Sizzler salad bar will put this place to immense shame, but I was happy to find a salad bar anywhere in West Yellowstone.The all-you-can-eat soup and salad was around ten bucks, and there was plenty. Restaurant staff regularly attended to the salad bar, keeping the items stocked and straightening up often enough that it never developed that disheveled, sloppy look that so many salad bars get. The selections were rudimentary – lettuce, beets, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. (no mushrooms, sprouts, or other tasty exotics) and a minor variety of side salad fare – macaroni salad, cottage cheese, etc. The toppings were typical, croutons, bacon bits and sunflower seeds. Not that I’m complaining. It was a perfectly ordinary salad bar, and a veritable oasis after a long day’s road trip and two disgusting stop at fast food drive-thrus.
We actually ate here twice, the second night I ordered halibut fish and chips. It was all right, but very greasy, and the halibut meat was far from the best cut of the fish. Maybe the batter was too absorbent, or they didn’t drain it long enough. There were mosquitoes all over town that night, and a few of them got inside the restaurant. I was bitten twice during dinner, not the restaurant’s fault. The service on the second visit was indifferent, which was odd, as we were served by the same waitress on both occasions.
Bottom line: clean, fresh salad bar with simple choices, typical menu items, decent food at prices you can expect in busy tourist towns, and a reasonable time lapse between placing your order and receiving a meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We thought our breakfast was good, but a little expensive. Dinner was another story entirely. Their "special" was nothing special....and it was exactly the same price as listed on the menu. From a burned hamburger to raw chicken and wrapping up with terrible service and a hefty bill....we regretted choosing this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menan id
1 review
“Horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent $42 for two people my fiance ordered a $25 steak an shrimp he orderedhis stake med.well & it turned out to way over cooked super dry. i ordered chicken an it was still pink!it also came with rolls an they were dry! the other couple that was with us ordered a hamburger an said the hamburger was too cooked an the bun was dry! his wife ordered chicken parmasan which you think it the breaded chicken with sauce no breading jus cheese an sause she was very disappointed. we all were they didint even ask how are meal was. an when we were paying we asked if they had a comment box an all they said was no an walked off!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

poor choice for an evening meal but to be fair the past reviews were not far wrong. West yellowstone does not appear to be giving the best quality in food anywhere so this place was average I suppose.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outpost Restaurant also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Outpost Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outpost Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.