We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, perfect for all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Moose Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moose Creek Inn
119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent stay, perfect for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from Oct 7-11th and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a cosy cabin room with dining table, microwave &fridge. Moose Creek is in a great location near to the west entrance of the park.
We loved our stay, however due to our circumstances (we are backing) we were slightly disappointed that breakfast consists of muffins & coffee. We also required laundry facilities that are not available on sight.

...but we would return & recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for staying at Moose Creek on your visit to Yellowstone National Park. Also, thank you for your very nice comments about your stay. We are sorry that your were disappointed in the coffee and muffins, we have never offered any breakfast at our hotel and have never advertised any type of breakfast. In keeping prices low, we do only offer the coffee and a few small muffins. The laundry facility is directly across the street from our property and has very convenient hours and many washers and dryers, our front desk staff is aware of the laundry facility and would have been happy to assist you with any questions. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
81
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is pretty average hotel. Small price for the small room reached by little out door staircase, simple breakfast, but we had a good sleep here for one night. It is obvious that no one is going to enjoy the hotel here. So we got what we need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good night's sleep and hope you enjoyed your vacation to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

we stayed there only for one night but wished we could stay for more. this place is very small but very well designed. it starts at the reception Room which is just goerges! so pretty, welcoming and even has a fireplace. we fell inlove with it instantly.
the room we got was just as good - it was very small but was nicely designed. the furniture was all authentic with cute moose pictures everywhere. an amazing selection of tv channels. even the soap and shampoo were great compared to any other motels of this level.
they dont offer breakfast, but yet still offer a complimentary flavored coffee with muffins and donuts.
the service was extremely nice and helpful.

A TIP:
most of the businesses around close for the entire season at around mid-end September. don't count on restaurants you read about in the internet to be open... just get there and find something.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay! We hope to see you again on your next vacation to Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Moose Creek Inn was great for us after a long day traveling and in Yellowstone. The room had recently been remodeled and was clean and very cozy. It was small, but since the only time we spent there was before going to bed at night and then before we left first thing the next morning it was perfect. Had a small microwave and fridge, log cabin type table, chair and bed and the bed was very comfortable. he parking area is small but adequate. The staff was friendly and had suggestions on places to eat. You are right in town, so can walk anywhere there. We would definitely stay here again -- it worked great for us. The price was right also -- they had just started their winter rates -- the last weekend in September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst doing Yellowstone NP - and found the Inn met our needs.
We were located in the new separate block, on the 1st (top) floor.
The room was spotless and well equipped.
We didn't expect a B & B, so grabbing a coffee & muffin to help us on our way to the Park saved us time.
The Parking was a bit tight - but fine, especially if you back in when you arrive.
You could walk to the town centre easily.
The staff I met were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block - on top floor - sees to the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were given the Moose Lodge upstairs which has a lovely rustic and cosy bedroom and a well equipped kitchen with a pull out sofa bed and an additional camp bed. Even though we were right in the middle of the town it was pretty quiet. We were travelling with two children (8 and 4) and they loved having their own sleeping space in the kitchen. The rooms were cleaned every day. It was our favourite place on our 3 week trip. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Just ask for the Moose Lodge if you are travelling with children and want the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesburg, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in the Moose Suite which i would highly recommend. It was like a small apartment with a living area, kitchen and a bedroom witha king size bed. Super comfortable bed i might add! Decorated so you feel as if you are staying in a cabin. The value is great. You can pay what we payed to stay in a suite or for the same price you could stay in a normal boring hotel room somewhere else for more money. Would recommend this place to anyone and will most definitly be staying there again if im ever back to yellowstone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.