We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically the only place open - but great anyway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slippery Otter Pub

Slippery Otter Pub
139 N Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406 646 7050
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pizza, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Practically the only place open - but great anyway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

West Yellowstone doesn't have much happening in the winter when the park is closed until summer. So, my husband and I were happy to stumble onto The Slippery Otter. The aptmosphere was fun. The staff was friendly and helpful. Try the jalepeno cheese stuffed wontons. They were very tasty and came with a huckleberry jelly for dipping. My husband got the bison burger. It was delicious. Worthy of a stop!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    125
    59
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thank you Casey (owner) for all of your open and generous hospitality, our group had an amazing time at West Yellowstone and you and your team made us feel welcome and at home!

The Slippery Otter is a great restaurant and bar serving delicious casual food... we enjoyed the pizza, wontons, wings, spinach artichoke dip, burgers and I am certain much much more... We were in town for 3 nights and spent 3 evenings at the Slippery Otter, for artisan beers, appetizers and for dinner one night! We called it our Apres' Snowmobiling Haunt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Montana
1 review
“Won't cook a steak at 3:00pm!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Waited for 15 mins to take our order!! Then they tell me I can't have a steak at 3:00pm! Why would u not do that they just lost 60.00 at our table for that!! Won't come back ever!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey M, Owner at Slippery Otter Pub, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at my restaurant and thanks you for let me know. Your server is new and did not understand the menu. We do not serve prime rib till 5:00 since we prepare that in house and it takes that long to cook. We do serve our other steaks all day long. If you have a problem in the future please ask your server to get management. Once again I am sorry for the miscommunication and I hope you will give us another try next time you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings MT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service for our group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Dinner for our group of 29 had been previously arranged. As we arrived, they were so welcoming - tables set, smiles, pleasant staff. Our gluten-free person was treated very well with a delicious, well-plated, specially prepared hamburger. Others enjoyed huge plates of fish and chips, chicken caesar salad or personal pizza. Service was friendly, quick and efficient. Some of our group relaxed in the Pub before dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Timber, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun Atomsphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Walking in, we know we found a special place. My husband and I ordered the Fish and Chips(fries). It was suprisingly good. The watiress had a great personality and made the night fun. WE really enjoyed the cheesecake, and boy, isi it rich. Definitley will stop in again the next time we are in West Yellowstone

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slippery Otter Pub also viewed

 

Been to Slippery Otter Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slippery Otter Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.