We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Buffalo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Buffalo Hotel to your Saves list
White Buffalo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Farmington, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the White Buffalo several times. The staff is always accommodating and friendly. The beds are very comfortable....and I am very picky about beds! We love having the refrigerator in the room for our snacks and beverages. The entry to Yellowstone National Park is about 2 minutes away. Our favorite thing is to spend the whole day in the Park. Last visit in the course of two days, we saw 19 bears and all kinds of other wildlife. It was too rainy to hike, but it is also great to go in the park when it is rainy because the animals come out in the cool rain. After a lovely day in the park, the White Buffalo is just the place to go. We can relax a while or enjoy the amenities and then check out the quaint town of West Yellowstone for shopping and dinner. We hope to go back soon with our adult children. The price to stay at the White Buffalo is very reasonable, it is family friendly, clean, great location. We highly recommend it!

Sybel and Bart B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Not much I can say but thanks. We really love it when our guests have great experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    24
    23
    55
See reviews for
58
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Exterior is nice and clean , they have a unique life size white buffalo statue out front that the kids really loved and great photo op.

Lobby and front desk look new and remodeled, our room was very clean and had nice new sheets also looks like they are updating he room's as there is new tile floor in bathroom..
They also have a new looking movie theater room that was free with family friendly movies.

Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff !

Can't wait to come back next year !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are always pleased to hear of guests who have had great experiences. Typically, someone with a complaint is about 20 times more likely to express their negative feelings than those who have a positive stay. The few negative occurrences frequently skew the review process, so I'd like to thank this guest, and others who have done so, for taking a minute to tell us we are doing things right. We are not perfect, but we are working hard to give guests a positive experience in a remarkable place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The outward appearance & lobby are impressive. We therefore paid first @ were shown our room. We couldn't bring ourselves to stay and asked for our money back. There was toilet paper stuck in a peephole in the door. Curtain was half off its rod just hanging there. From reading other reviews it sounds like there are some nice clean rooms here, but ours was very disappointing. For the rest of our week long trip we asked to see the room first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We always appreciate guest reviews and I wish I knew more about this case. Our records show the guest arrived at 2:55 PM and left (was refunded in full) at 3:04 PM. Immediately following their departure both our GM and Front desk representative checked the room. Both indicated to me that there was no problem with the curtains, but both also said that in fact a previous guest had stuck toilet paper in the peep holes (front and back doors). I can only guess that the previous guest thought that people could look in and see as much as a person inside sees when they look out. (That assumption of course is wrong.) We have many guests from foreign countries where this item may have been something new to them. These peep holes are an additional security measure that many people appreciate. Still, the toilet paper should have been removed by our housekeeping staff. I wish I had a good excuse for this but I don't. The housekeeper just blew it. We apologize. We will reinforce this issue with our staff and hope it does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A lovely, cute hotel in a cute little town. Reminds me of a little Western town from back in the day.

Very clean rooms. Bed linen, bathroom - everything was great. Fridge in the room was a bonus too. The whole hotel was clean and without smell - very important to me!!!!

Close to two supermarkets, bars, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and kind words. We agree that West Yellowstone is a neat town. It is small enough to be friendly and intimate while being big enough to provide everything a visitor on vacation is looking for. We hope this guest comes back again and brings their friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice and very clean. Beds were comfortable and the staff was exceptional. We got into town after midnight and didnt have a reservation. After calling the after hours phone number, a lady came out and checked us in. You could tell we woke her up but she was still pleasant. We are planning on coming back this spring and will definitley stay there. The only thing was the hot tub was not working.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bountiful ut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very nice place. Clean, updated, internet works fine, excellent breakfast. Quick access to the park, quiet. Everything you could want in a hotel. The pool was clean, everyone in our family group from children to middle-aged enjoyed it. They have a snack bar, excellent spacious dining area, patio, hot tub, decor is handsome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate guests who take the time to let us know how we are doing. Sometimes we learn how we can improve and sometimes we learn that we did our job right. Since it is far more common for complaints to show up on reviews, we certainly appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family stayed at White Buffalo Hotel and we had a fun time! The Hotel had a snack bar, a movie theatre, and a really nice hot tub & pool. My children loved it, and the staff was fun and very friendly. This Hotel had a huge yummy breakfast, and BIG rooms. The Hotel's location is very close to Yellowstone, which made it a Hotel we will visit again, and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Wow. Short and sweet. What a great review. I love these real high reviews and hope we are doing enough to deserve them, but I know that this was very kind on the part of this guest. We have been working hard since we bought the hotel (less than a year ago) and will continue to do so so that all of our guests have a great experience. The motto for our staff now says it all; "Our purpose and passion is to generate a positive guest experience." Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Buffalo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.