We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Buffalo Hotel

Save Saved
You added White Buffalo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Buffalo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well, location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed there for only one night, it actually did not matter how the room looked like. Anyway, the room is small and dated. The good thing is that this hotel located next to west yellowstone so we did not have to get up early the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    23
    21
    54
See reviews for
52
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

It used to be called Yellowstone Park Inn and Suites. Apparently the owner keeps changing the name, maybe it's because he doesn't want people to keep track of what a terrible place this is.
My first impression was that it was strange that the girl at the front desk was wearing a yucky old stained jacket with cat ears on the hood.
They made my dad pay full price before they would give him the room key. At the time it was like $180/night.
The courtyard was disgusting, the pool was completely empty with about an inch or two of blackish green water at the bottom covered with misquotes and dead things and it had a big giant crack in it.
There were loud people who had taken up residency in the room across from us. The windows to the rooms had broken screens and blinds.
Our room wasn't much better, there was stool in the toilet, there were two light bulbs that were burnt out and the TV wouldn't work.
The Wi-Fi wouldn't work either.
When we were leaving we decided to go through the back door because it was close to our room. The back door was located at the end of this tiny, narrow hallway with the carpet coming up. The back door led to an alleyway and was left unlocked day and night.
In the alleyway there were scary looking people watching us as we packed our stuff into our car. I was lucky to get out alive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of the worse hotel I have ever been to....there's roaches everywhere! When you walk to your rooms...there's roaches climbing on the walls in the hallway....these are not the little roaches...these are the humongous ugly kind.
There's so many things wrong with this place.....our first nite there, there were no hot water to shower! What type of hotel has no hot water? Front desk informed us everyone showered at the same time so they used up the hot water...we had to wait 3 hours later to shower with hot water!
There were ticks and dead roaches in the bathroom floor. We were on the 1st floor so when anyone walked on top of us we would hear everything! TV didn't work....front desk came and changed the batteries...still didn't work. Sheet and bedding looked so dirty and soiled....luckily we brought our own sleeping bags. Second day the maid forgot to clean our room even though we had a sign on the front door for "Maid Service". Hotel and rooms had some weird unclean smell. I think i can go on forever...just stay away from this overpriced, dirty, and disgusting hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am sorry this guest had a bad experience. The claims about roaches and ticks are inaccurate. I am sure that they generate the desired response from readers however. I do fine it interesting that this guest stayed multiple nights in a location that they have described as noted in this review. If this had happened to me I would not have stayed the first night, let along any thereafter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room for two nights and ended up staying one. It was one to many. Our room was located on the first floor directly next to the service room/closet. The carpet in the hallway was filthy, the room smelled like smoke covered up with perfume(even though it is a non-smoking facility), the curtains were tattered, the toilet paper roll was over half gone, the bottom of the tub was stained brown, the pillows had stains on them, one of the lights didn't work, the bathroom had a horrible paInt job and there was mold on the ceiling. I could keep going but it just makes feel more and more disgusted that we paid $160 a night for it. We ended up making an hour drive to a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am sorry that this guest had such an unpleasant experience. When these things occur, we immediately review the rooms and circumstances to identify any issues that can be dealt with. We just recently purchased this property and are working hard to rectify old issues. This may well have been the case here. We would always hope that guests let our onsite manager know of issues so we can address them. I am surprised that this guest said they needed to drive an hour to find another hotel since our property is in West Yellowstone. There are thousands of hotel rooms within a few blocks or our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was by far the WORST place we have ever stayed anywhere! We were just there last night. We checked in late, and the cost was $156.00 total. I was SHOCKED at the condition of the room. Front door was not able to shut tight and lock securely. There was a smell in the room. Badly stained and worn out carpet, and chairs. The spring in the bed on one side was pressed against the mattress. The bathroom counter was split on one side and peeling off on one end. The light fixture above the mirror was falling out of it's base. The bathroom door couldn't close. Breakage and missing pieces of the bottom wall and bath was unsightly. Toilet couldn't flush. We called front desk, and they tried to fix it, but it still continued. Shower did not heat up at all. Turned knob to the extreme end hoping hot water would flow, but barely warmish cool water finally flowed after letting it run for 7-10 minutes. Towels were the small cheap almost see through fabric. They had the built in liquid soap container that did not work in the shower, luckily we brought our own soap. Could hardly see the OLD T.V. No other amenities in the room was available- no microwave, small fridge, iron, etc. Listen, the $39.95 Econo hotels like motel 8 out shines this place by a long shot. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!!! The only decent and deceiving appearance is the lobby area. You see, that gets you in. After that you're on your own. Would have gone to another hotel, but they were all sold out in town. We actually skipped breakfast, the room alone created a serious lost in our appetite. Lessons learned, will never return to that scary place again!

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms, unless you want to sleep in the lobby area. If you are late looking for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As other reviewers noted the hotel is definitely overpriced and could get much better ratings with a reasonable price for its facilities.

We stayed in a large room with two queen sized beds with two kids. The room was clean and reasonable, but we also had problems with our bathroom door not closing due to a lifted floor, which was most likely caused by some water seeping into it. Furthermore the room's air-conditioning was quite noisy, so we turned it off and opened the window, which was luckily possible.

The hotel breakfast was good compared to the breakfasts I had at American hotels so far, but still not that exciting compared to European standards. In addition the hotel has free parking in front of it and a little pool.

The cons are stained floors in the hallways, which leave a bad impression on entering the hotel when you first arrive and the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

By far the worst hotel this trip, bathroom door wouldn't close due to heaved floor rotting subfloor.
Missing supplimentary door locks. Bad Wifi.
Way over priced, believe we were taken advantage of as we arrived late into town because of bad weather.
Front staff were pleasant, breakfast was very good despite stained chairs.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel! ,!!!!!!! I chose fitness center above by mistake, I am not sure they have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks to this guest for the specifics noted, like the dirty chair in the dinning room. I have instructed our staff to steam clean all of the chairs again. These chairs are fabric covered and as such, when spills occur, which happens virtually every day since hundreds of people are in and out of the facility, we try to clean up but I am sure we miss a few. We plan to replace these chairs later this year to provide an easier to clean and maintain surface. Regarding the WiFi; this is a problematic issue. Our technology has been completely upgraded this year and is cutting edge. However, we are in a location where the infrastructure in places is antiquated. We share this guest's frustration since we also suffer from slow access, drops, etc. on our business systems as well. If anyone has a solution please share it with us. We would love to have a permanent resolution for our guests as well as ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Buffalo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.