We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Under Canvas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yellowstone Under Canvas to your Saves list
Yellowstone Under Canvas
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Coronado, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family of 4 had an excellent time at this camp. The facility and location are gorgeous. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and above all, friendly. The camp was well maintained and organized. Staying at this camp was one of the highlights of our Yellowstone trip. My entire family enjoyed it & would eagerly return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    28
    12
    18
See reviews for
87
69
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

They call it "glamping". Glam camping. What's that you ask? Try a super comfy king size bed with a wood burning stove and furniture in a tent! They also had tepee's and you can add one of those for the kids for and extra 45 bucks!

This place is about ten minutes outside West Yellowstone Montana. Its adjacent to a ranch with horses. They have a fire every night and a sitting area by a creek that runs by the property. You can even pre-order wine and snacks to be served by the creek.

Bear country is about seven miles away so you can't have food in your tent, so stock up on ice for that cooler! There is also no electric so get that phone charged up before getting here especially if you use it for your alarm!

The staff here is young but friendly. They opperate as a campsite hotel. You have to sign a waiver for all sorts of dangers real and imagined.

Overall I gave them a five for originality and for being very unique.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are wonderful...so much nicer than anything that I've ever experienced camping...even nicer than some hotel bathrooms that I've been in. A group of friends and I stayed in a tipi. It was comfortable and pretty spacious. I slept well the whole night through. I would go back again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. Great big comfy bed, wood burning stove, a seating area and the bathroom in the tent was a plus. Unfortunately the heater for the pipes was not working so the water wasn't warm. After a day of hiking we ended up taking cold showers. Nonetheless, the claw foot tub in the tent was a nice touch as well. Loved the concept of "glamping" under the Montana starlit sky.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a wood burning stove for those chilly nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My mom and I are traveling across the country and I booked us a TP at this place months ago for two nights. I thought the cot was very comfortable and the multiple mummy sleeping bags were warm. My mom however, wanted a motel. So after she couldn't sleep at all the first night, the people at reception were so nice! They upgraded us without a single hesitation. The room we got had a wood burning stove and a king size bed. We both slept very well and left super happy. The setting is fantastic with a 360 degree view of the mountains. These people were super nice. id stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobandJoAnn, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is the constant feedback from our guests that helps us find ways to do things better. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love the outdoors and being surrounded by natural beauty that is surreal? If so, then you owe it to yourself to spend some time at Yellowstone Under Canvas. The mountains, the Montana skies, the meandering stream and willows, with the cranes and geese singing their songs, well it's peaceful and exciting all at the same time. Then add a tent that is out of a dream.
As you approach, you step onto the wooden deck, which continues into your tent to become the floor. Inside you see a beautiful, warm, and cozy interior with a big inviting bed, a wood stove, and comfortable sitting area with a soft rug underfoot. I slept like a baby and awoke ready to explore Yellowstone National Forest, a short ten minute drive from the deck of my safari tent! It was heaven!

Room Tip: Deluxe tents have a view of the creek, but if you can't get one, well all the tents have the ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the great comments and having the opportunity to serve you during you visit here to Yellowstone. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I are pretty adventurous and don't mind roughing it now and again. However, when you're paying 300+ dollars for a "luxury" tent you should expect much better service. The two teenage girls who greeted us at reception were as sweet and polite as they were incompetent and didn't even know the phone number for the reception desk. The wood burning heater in the room would not work, so I had to go to reception and ask Jeff for help. After 45 minutes of cold he walks in with a flamethrower and takes 20 minutes to light the wood. He then assures us that we'd be able to keep the fire going with a measly box of matches. Obviously it didn't work and had it not been for the many sheets we draped over us we certainly would have caught pneumonia!
Great idea, poorly executed. Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I do apologize you were uncomfortable at night and my fire skills did not get you through the night. Comments such as yours will help us evolve in all of our skills and knowledge of the local area. Again, thank you and we appreciate your recent visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Under Canvas

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yellowstone Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Under Canvas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.