We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value, great new makeover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Yellowstone's City Center Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
Save
You added West Yellowstone's City Center Motel to your Saves list
214 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly City Center Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best value, great new makeover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the City Center before, good service, clean rooms and best prices in a otherwise tourist priced town. Since our last stay the people have done a "makeover" giving it a really nice mountain lodge feel. Resturant and stores nearby- We ate daily at the Old Town Cafe, I thought my Grandma took a job cooking there! We took one of the bus tours they offer and i dont think I will take my car into a national Park again- they really know how to show you the Park

Room Tip: All great rooms- clean, quite and good beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Owner at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear CanadaredCalgary,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the newly remodeled City Center Motel in West Yellowstone! We spent all winter remodeling the rooms with new paint and décor. We’re happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliment! It was a pleasure to have you back again. See you next trip!
Randy Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

West Yellowstone is a strange place, full of souvenir shops and captive tourists. The hotels reflect this. City Center is not the worst choice in town. It is basic, clean and convenient. It is also terribly noisy. The plumbing in any room echoes throughout the building. Adequate may be the best description. I would hesitate to stay again, but then then, what are the other choices?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

When staying inside the town of West Yellowstone during the summer, you basically have two choices. Either you can stay south of Yellowstone Avenue in the newer hotels (with indoor swimming pools) like the Kelly Inn, Grey Wolf Inn, or Yellowstone Park Hotel which will have one standard room for $150-$225 per night plus tax, or you can try one of the many more affordable old motels in the downtown area. While many of them don't have adjoining rooms for families, the City Center Motel has a three room suite (advertized as "four queens"). The main room is oversized and has two queens on one side of the room, with a tv, table and four chairs on the other, as well as an air conditioner (which seems uncommon in the older motels). In addition, there are two bedrooms with doors, each containing a fairly comfortable queen bed, all for $129 plus tax. The unit has a very bland feel to it with little decor, but it was very clean. The staff was friendly, and the motel was within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. The only real complaint I had was that the wi-fi was rather slow - the signal was poor much of the time (though our unit was the farthest from the front office). Overall, I recommend it, especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We really were happy with our stay at the City Center motel-- the managers were very helpful, rooms were very clean and the beds were great. we liked the location as it was close to everything. They have a gathering room with a fully equiped kitchen that was a pleasent surprise, we extended our stay because of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We made a mistake when we decided to stay at this rat hole. The tv reception was extremely bad, the bed was hard, the heater in the restroom did not work. The only good thing was the wireless internet worked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed here based on reviews from TripAdvisor. The folks were friendly and the place has a great location, but it is very old and has not been updated. The walls were super thin and I could hear everything in the rooms surrounding us and outside. The rooms are super tiny with really cheap particle board furniture that has seen thousands of travelers. The beds were not comforable and the sheets were cheap. I will not stay here again. Sorry, I don't normally like to say bad things about places we stay, but I don't see how this place gets all these rave reveiws. I've stayed at nicer Motel 6's.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Manager at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
First, I would like to thank you for choosing the City Center Motel. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to comment about our facilities. We continuously strive to upgrade and improve our services based off of comments such as these. Since your visit 18 months ago, we have made many changes to the motel. I hope that on your next trip through our area you might give us another opportunity to make your visit a memorable success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This place was clean, well priced and the staff was very helpful planing our days in the national park. Found great food next door at the 'Old Cafe'? Owned by a family that has been there as long as the buffalo! Wifi worked great

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Yellowstone's City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Yellowstone's City Center Motel

Address: 214 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly City Center Motel)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
West Yellowstone`s City Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstones City Center Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.