We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great throwback to the 50's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Westward Ho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Al's Westward Ho Motel to your Saves list
Al's Westward Ho Motel
16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great throwback to the 50's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

We arrived in West Yellowstone without reservations (dummy!) and went to the Tourist Information office next to the IMAX. Al's called while we were there to say they had two rooms left and my wife and i and another couple made a beeline for the motel. The other couple took a suite and we took room #1. The room had twin beds a bathroom and a small kitchen and that was about it. It was clean but the old Frigidaire with the long handle for opening gave away the age of the place. It is the closest motel to the West Entrance and the people were very nice (almost apologetic for having us stay in #1). I would stay there again but would make a reservation to make sure I got a newer room.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    31
    7
    19
See reviews for
31
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I reserved two rooms at Al's on the internet. When we arrived, Marilyn said she did not have an internet site and she had no reservations for us - even though I had a confirmation number. She asked how much the room was ($89) - and she said she could do better than that. She said there were just two rooms left if we wanted them for $69 apiece ( we were traveling with another couple). Marilyn assured us that we would not be charged twice for the rooms if we wanted to stay. The commode in the first room had a serious leak so we had to move upstairs. The second room had a wall heater that did not work very well. It was about 28 degrees that night. One night was enough, yes it is close to Yellowstone but that was about it. Needless to say we were charged twice. After contacting this business I could not get the second charge credited back. I disputed the charge through my credit card. Finally, two months later I was credited for the second charge. Yes the web site is still out there - and yes they take reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The room was very clean and had comfortable beds. However, the owner was very feisty and not flexible at all (it's the end of the season and she's probably tired of all of the tourists and been in the business too long). You need to check in between 4 and 9 (and no earlier, you can't even get your key early), so we had to completely revamp our days plans to accommodate those hours. We had planned to be in Yellowstone for sunset. We were also surprised that there was no ice maker, it was a hot day and we wanted ice, but had to go into town and buy a bag. The room did have a fan in it.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — owner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We had a very pleasant stay here, but this is not a motel for anyone attached to amenities, like air conditioning or fan or phone, etc. It was warm so we had to keep a window open for ventilation -- luckily, things quieted down around 10PM -- everyone was as tired as we were I guess!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no fan
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincheser, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Old but clean and well kept.

Good room rate ($74.80 including the tax) for 4 adults.

This hotel is just outside of Yellowstone National Park.

You have to be there by 9:00 p.m.

There was no air conditioning, but it was not needed.

No smoking is allowed in any of the rooms or even on the property of this hotel.

We would have liked more pillows (2 per each queen size bed provided). We didn't ask for more either.

There were 4 bath towels and 3 wash cloths - we didn't ask for more.

There is no telephone in the room.

Would definately stay at this hotel again due to the rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

stayed here 3 nights in July based on reviews, I don't think this hotel is that great, it was ok for the price and very close to yellowstone entrance. I had a problem the 1st night because it was very warm and there's no AC. I asked for a fan but the owner/manager said they have none. I was a little upset because when I booked the room she said they have fans available if rooms are too hot. Rooms are pretty basic, no hair dryers, pretty quiet.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

Arrived late one night and was lucky enough to find Al's still open. The owner went out of her way to accommodate me in a room that had obviously been recently remodelled, with new furniture. It's unreal, as Yellowstone is right across the road. AM going back this year with my family.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Westward Ho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.