We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super large room, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Westward Ho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Al's Westward Ho Motel to your Saves list
Al's Westward Ho Motel
16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super large room, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Price a little to big but it's probably the locations. Very close to Yellowstone entrance, walking distance to the main street with restaurants and store. Room is super big, you would think is too big. Kind of old but very clean. Too bad it does not offer anybreakfast - lady in the reception looks like she can cook :).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    31
    7
    19
See reviews for
31
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kew
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were in 2 upstairs rooms for 2 nights. The rooms were very clean and spacious but there was no fridge, hair dryer, coffee or phone. The woman at the reception was not at all welcoming - the first thing she said as my 84-year-old aunt entered the reception was "Close the door, it's cold." Before even saying hello. We had booked the room 6 months in advance and admittedly I didn't request a downstairs room when I booked as I didn't see an option to do, nor did I realise the hotel was 2-storey but we were refused a downstairs room. My aunt and mother are both 84 and I would have preferred they were on the ground floor. At the time of check in the woman said she would get her husband to help us to our rooms when he had finished mowing but to quote her "I ain't helping you." We managed on our own.
The most important issue we had was the lighting in the stairwell. On the first night as we checked in about 5 or 6pm we went to go up the stairs but the light was not on. I would not have my 84-year-olds to climb a straight set of stairs in the dark so I went back to the reception to request the light be turned on. A man came over and did this immediately. On the second night the same thing with the light. It was pouring rain and I ran across the forecourt and got very wet to again request the light be turned on and the woman said she would get someone to come over and turn it on. We stood there for at least 5 minutes and no-one came to turn the light on so I helped my mum and aunt up the stairs in the dark. The next morning the lights went off very early so the stairs were again dark. The woman told me the lights were on a timer but surely this has to be a safety hazard. Surely a light switch could be installed at the top and bottom of the stairs so guests could at least turn the light on and off for themselves. It should be an easy problem to solve and it don't believe I could be the first person to find this a safety issue.
I just found the woman to be not at all welcoming and although the room was spacious and clean, the other issues were so bad that I could never recommend this hotel to anyone.
It was in a great position, very close to the entrance to Yellowstone and the shops but there were plenty of other hotels just as close and hopefully with better facilities and friendlier staff.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent two nights here in early June while touring Yellowstone NP. Close and very convenient to park entrance. Nice, clean, large rooms, but no extras like hair dryer, phone, coffee (no problem for us), or ice machine. Can go the office and ask for a small bucket of ice for your drinks. Within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.

Nice clean town. Enjoyed our early morning walk around the town in cool mid 40's degree weather.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

No hair dryer, office closed in AM so couldn't ask for one after walking over with wet hair on a cold morning (or get ice, or check out), no phone so could not call, no coffee in room, no fridge, no micro, no accessible ice machine. But you can go to the gas station next door for coffee or hot water.
Yes, very clean, good internet, and good location in downtown and Yellowstone.
BTW: the Woodside bakery a block north has THE best cinnamon rolls!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed there this last week. Room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Parking was a bit tight but that goes for anything in this area. Loved how close it was to the West Entrance of Yellowstone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

its a very good hotel! confortable, clean and its value what you pay. Just 01 km from the entrance of Yellowstone park ! Perfec place too be. Near the center of the city. Good beds and the razonable bathroom ! i recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We ended up at Al's by accident. What a happy accident. Our room was affordable, huge, spotless and the beds were comfortable. It's family run and owned and the lobby is a sight to behold. It's like a little time capsule - check it out, even if you (for some reason unknown to me) are staying elsewhere. Located just outside the gates to Yellowstone National Park, Al's is also a short walk from shops, bars and restaurants. The owners are also happy to share any insider tips they have heard re: where to spot animals in Yellowstone. Saw my first wild grizzly!

Room Tip: Can't remember out room number but it was in the building furthest from the lobby - freshly reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Westward Ho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.