We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Westward Ho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Al's Westward Ho Motel to your Saves list
Al's Westward Ho Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
467 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Bare bones but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good for a one night stay, but not more. Tiny room. No A/C - but for us (thankfully) the night was cool. We opened a window in the bathroom. Window in the bedroom also opened but the heavy curtain needed for privacy blocked any air flow.
No fridge, microwave or hairdryer. There is internet, but it is REALLY slow.
Vanity is nice size and outside tub/toilet area. Hot water is hard to figure out and midway during the shower it ran out.
Bed is OK - not a great sleep but not the worst we have had. No king size beds, but a queen.
Location is excellent. RIGHT outside the park. You can walk around the corner to the main drag where all the shops and restaurants are located - stroll the cute western town of West Yellowstone. Very touristy but kind of fun.
Service was OK , Ice is available from the front desk - but served in a very small little bowl. No breakfast available here.
Parking right outside the room was nice.
The price was good - especially for this tourist town. But there are TONS of motels and hotels in the place and I think we should have shopped around a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    37
    7
    19
See reviews for
34
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We took a weekend trip to West Yellowstone and found Al's Westward Ho Motel. We were surprised at the reasonable rate since we were still in the summer season. The room was large and the beds were firm and comfortable. Very clean too. Overall we were very pleased and would recommend this motel to all travelers in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pros: Very close to the west entrance to Yellowstone. Big rooms.
Cons: No A/C. No phone, fridge, microwave. Must check in by 9 pm. No ice machine--have to ask the clerk for ice, and they only give you enough ice for four cups.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

WARNING !!! If you don't check in by 9pm, not only will you loose your room, but you will be CHARGED for it. I made my reservation in the morning, was told check-in was between 4pm & 9pm. I was running late due to road construction and an accident in the park. I made a courtesy call from Old Faithfull to let them know I would be in about 9:15pm. It was then that I was informed that if I didn't check in by 9 pm, I would loose my room. Needless to say, thank goodness there was no park police roaming around to give me a speeding ticket, I made it by 5 min. The front desk clerk was rude and condescending upon checking in.

But it gets better,the room was old, it had a stale odor in the room and the water pressure was non-existent in the morning. I was almost scalded when the temperature went from luke warm to ice cold, then scalding hot. I Will not stay here again or recommend this hotel. The only good thing I have to say is about the older gentleman who put a towel on our motorcycle seats in the morning to wipe off any condensation and keep them from getting hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the 70's kitsh of the lobby, I wondered what we were in for, but the room we had in the new section on the 2nd floor was lovely, big, and comfortable. Stayed for 4 nights, and would easily recommend again.

Be patient with the owner, she seemed a little overdone a couple of times, but at times she is quite busy. Go with the flow, this is a VACATION!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

When I arrived, I was worried, but after checking in and seeing the room and location to the West entrance to Yellowstone, I relaxed. The non smoking room was HUGE and clean....although dated. No AC, but there was a box fan and that was sufficient with the window open. Free internet and a clean bathroom, comfortable beds with new mattresses and plenty of extra space. For the price in this town, this was a good find for our purposes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night. I was a little worried by the outside appearance of the hotel, but our room was spacious, clean, and there was a fan available to block any outside noise. The beds were clean and comfortable. Wifi is available but slow. The owner is not overly friendly but that doesn't bother me. One block to shopping and 2 blocks to the entrance to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#8 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#13 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#16 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#5 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Al's Westward Ho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Westward Ho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.