We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center

Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center
201 South Canyon, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
+1 406-646-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this animal and nature center learn about and view grizzly bears and gray wolves in their natural habitats.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Pretty Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really enjoyed the Grizzy Wolf discovery center for what it was. It's not a zoo, there's no petting the animals, but you learn a lot about the nature of the bears and the wolf packs in the park as well as in the center. Really liked that they give a 2 day pass and you can come and go as you please. The first time we went in the snow started coming down like you wouldn't believe, so it was nice to not have the stress of having to " get it all in " at that time. The only thing I would've liked to see was the birds of prey, that area was closed for the winter... Not quite sure where they were:(. We got some great pictures of the wolves and bears:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    238
    59
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“BEST UP CLOSE ENCOUNTER WITH WILD BEARS AND WOLVES YOU CAN HAVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an awesome place to take the family. Any age kids will enjoy this awesome center. While there we watched wild wolves hunt fish out of a pond in the wolf area. Our younger kids took the kids keeper tour. This is where they get to go behind the scenes and place food in the encloursure for the bears to find and eat while they are in the exibit.
They loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center was not what we expected when we first visited. We did not visit here during a trip to West Yellowstone years ago because we were concerned that it was too commercialized. Instead, it is a fantastic place to observe rescued bears and wolves. We have now visited twice and both times he naturalists are excellent and very willing to answer your questions. The museum portion of the property has excellent and interesting exhibits. This last visit we donated a couple of containers of spices and raisins for the staff to use for their enrichment program. I will visit the Center anytime I am at West Yellowstone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved it, learned a lot, nice attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a lovely stop on our winter yellowstone tour. We were 6 days in W. Yellowstone and visited on a half day we had free. The park/zoo is very well kept and the displays are very interesting and informative. I was very happy to see when the bears come our they are SUPER happy, playful and foraging for their treats. Usually, in zoos, the bears seem lethargic and depressed, but they were rolling, wrestling and playing which made me smile. The wolves were active and from the viewpoints and visitor center, they seem so close and such an intimate experience. But during the winter, the birds are not available for viewing (wanted to see an eagle up close). But overall a great visit and totally worth the $10 especially when you realize they are a non-profit and really love and care for these animals who might not be alive today if it were not for them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“close encounters:wolves and grizzly bears”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent several hours here. You could watch the animals close -up from the warm areas. We were able to watch several feedings and took many pictures! The museum was also interesting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.