We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch a movie about Yellowstone before you venture in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone IMAX Theatre

Yellowstone IMAX Theatre
101 S. Canyon Street, P.O. Box 504, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406-646-4100
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yellowstone IMAX is a 6 story screen with 12,000 watts of stereo surround sound. Only IMAX can show you Yellowstone like this! Be sure to visit YTP, Yellowstone Trading Post, our beautiful and unique gift shop inside the IMAX!
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
847 reviews 847 reviews
425 attraction reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“Watch a movie about Yellowstone before you venture in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

IMAX theatres are pretty much the same the world over. The quality of the films is what sets them apart.

The Yellowstone movie gave a good overview and a literal overview which helicopter shots you will never see yourself.

Stop in here before entering the park to see what you'll miss.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    27
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
695 reviews 695 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 317 cities Reviews in 317 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

WE saw yellowstone movie after our stay at the park, it helped to tie together what we saw. Other movies available as well

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Good place to see a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We needed a break from the Yellowstone crowds so we saw a movie at the theatre. Nice giftshop, pleasant staff, and clean uncrowded theatre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisago City, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alaska movie was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Reasonably priced Imax theater - Alaska movie was great! Nice big gift shop with ice cream and popcorn in the lobby.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice way to be introduced to the Yellowstone National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw "Yellowstone" before we went to the park the next day. It was a good choice for us as this was our first visit to the park. There are also other Imax shows as well. It's a nice setting and all of the staff members we encountered were both friendly and seemed to be having fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone IMAX Theatre also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Yellowstone IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone IMAX Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.