We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelly Inn West Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelly Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Houston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kelly Inn West Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

So glad to have found this place, thanks to recommendations from Trip Advisor travelers. When I called to inquire a few months ago, Sally was so kind to give all the information I needed without putting pressure on me to book a room in the hotel. Eventually she helped me get a room for my family of six, which I greatly appreciated. The location was perfect and just a few minutes drive to the West Entrance. I was glad it is just a very short walk away from the West Yellowstone Visitor Center which hosts a few ranger-led programs. We did not have much time to wander around West Yellowstone itself, but it would have been easy to do so with the hotel's very central and accessible location. It is across the street from a Discovery Center, which I would have taken my daughter to, if we had extra time.

Check in was a little slow (someone had to be sent upstairs to see if our room was ready even when we arrived past the regular check-in time). Additionally, the sweet ladies at the reception desk had to check if the room we are assigned to had a "bear" peeking in through the window (which would have been a treat for one of my kids) and tried hard to get us in a room that had one. We ended up not getting in one, but that was OK; I so appreciated their efforts to accommodate their guests!

The room had a very nice decor, with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa and a rollaway bed added on. There was a small refrigerator to store our lunch supplies and a microwave that allowed us to heat up dinner when we came home late one evening after a long day at the park. Breakfast buffet was adequate and offered hot and cold items. The pancake machine turned out some pretty good pancakes! :-) I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing a clean, comfortable place to stay in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We take our TripAdvisor reviews very seriously and appreciate everyone who shares their experience with others so that they can make an informed choice of lodging options. That is why we respond to every review personally. Sorry we did not have a room with a bear in the window available for you this time. Those rooms are in short supply and need to be reserved far in advance directly with the hotel since they are so popular. On your next Yellowstone visit give us a call very early and we'll help get you exactly the room that you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    206
    97
    23
    15
See reviews for
258
230
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It is a nice place to stay. I have stayed in both the double queen room and the "upgraded" double king room. The only difference between the two, besides the obvious bigger bed, was that there is no comfy sofa in the King room:(. I preferred the queen room for that reason. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We're happy to hear that you choose to stay with us on your visits to Yellowstone.

Just to clarify for those that have not stayed with us before, our standard double queen rooms located on all three floors do not have the pull out sofa bed. Our double queen deluxe rooms which are located on the second and third floors only are larger rooms with the sofa bed. They are the same size as our double king rooms which are located on all three floors. The double king rooms on second and third floors have an easy chair and ottoman rather than a sofa bed but those on first floor do not have room for the easy chairs because of the extra outside entrance. We strive to have many options to facilitate families of all sizes and needs. We also have very large suites with single kings, a wet bar and multiple sofa/ chair combinations along with a Jacuzzi tub. By reserving early directly with the hotel staff our returning guests who are familiar with our hotel can pretty much choose the room type and location that best fits their specific needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Hall, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights about a week ago. The room was spacious and nicely appointed though it should have been for $239 per night. The breakfast room was far too small
to handle the crowd of people, especially when the tour buses were there, which they frequently were. They did have tables in the pool area, but who wants to have their breakfast in a humid room smelling of chlorine? The food was not the greatest either. For these two reasons we chose to eat breakfast out on three occasions. However, the biggest issue we had was with fire alarms on two separate occasions. The first one was at 6AM and apparently was caused by the person preparing the breakfast. That is forgiveable, but the result was that everyone then came to breakfast at the same time; the result being chaos. The second incident occurred around midnight and the alarm went off about five different times. This time it was not forgiveable. Apparently some guest decided to make some toast at midnight and burned it, thus causing the multiple fire alarms as the smoke spread from detector to detector even though the staff tried resetting each one as it set off the alarm. My question is "Why were the toasters left out on the counter in the first place?" The hotel could also stand to have a second elevator since the three story building is quite long and the elevator is all the way toward the one end of the structure. I will say that it was well located and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. We appreciate the comments and suggestions from all of our guests and react to those that we can. Your comments on the limited breakfast space is something we have been working on for some time. Unfortunately the hotels here were built before breakfast service became a standard and the limited service area and seating is not something that can just be added on without additional land which is not available. We recently remodeled our breakfast area to add a bar and bench to handle more guests within the space available. We also added the tables around the pool area which can now seat twice as many as our limited breakfast room. Unfortunately we simply don't have any other indoor space to utilize. Many of our guests, particularly those with large families, do choose the poolside option which alleviates the competition for seating in our breakfast area. We also supply trays to make it easy for those guests who prefer to take food back to their rooms for private seating. We also have picnic tables outside and are currently finishing construction of a new outdoor patio adjacent to our breakfast room for additional outdoor seating. We can actually seat as many or more people as most restaurants in town but if nearly 300 people all attempt to eat at the same time it would require a banquet hall size room to accommodate everyone. Since the bus tours usually leave quite early most folks have found that there is plenty of breakfast seating if they choose a slightly later time. We serve our full breakfast from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM every morning but we have some of the quick serve items available much earlier for the very early risers.

We're sorry to hear that you also didn't enjoy our new expanded complimentary breakfast selections. Nearly everyone has told us that they really appreciate the addition of hot foods and more protein with a rotation of various eggs and meats in addition to yogurt, berries, cut fruit, biscuits and gravy and hot pancakes. Based on the prices of a breakfast at a restaurant in town our free breakfast has been a great cost saving amenity for most families. We hope that the crowd of guests at the time you came to breakfast didn't prevent you from trying our new items before choosing to pay for breakfast at a restaurant.

We apologize that someone set off the fire alarm while you were here. Due to the very strict fire regulations hotels must abide by for the protection of guests, smoke alarms are often an unfortunate but necessary inconvenience regulated by law. However, compared to the alternative tragedy that any loss of life would cause, it is a relief when an injury of death is prevented by those inconveniences. Prior to your stay we had already applied for and finally received permission to replace many of the smoke detectors in the lobby and breakfast area with newer heat sensors that still offer protection from fire but are not set off by smoke issues from breakfast service. We completed the project last Thursday so hopefully we can prevent future alarms and still not deprive our guests of the use of the amenities that they have asked for. We still advise our guests not to leave unattended items in the microwave or toasters at any hour. Even if the alarm doesn't go off a smoke filled room is not a pleasant place.

We hope if you should return to Yellowstone in the future that you give us another look even if you should choose to stay elsewhere. We hope all of our future guests appreciate the many changes we continue to make based on guest reviews such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We weren't sure what we were doing, but made a great choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ended up extending our stay by three days and they made it happen for us. West Yellowstone is a central entrance and Kelly Inn is about as close to the gate as you can get. The rooms are lovely with handcrafted furniture. The breakfast was substantial with plenty of protein for a day of exploring the park. It was the perfect choice and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your trip. We're glad that you discovered us and that we found a way to extend your stay. Since much of the summer many of the nicer hotels are totally sold out, we always warn those who come to Yellowstone without an advanced reservation that it is 100 miles to the next big town. We're glad that you were able to enjoy a longer vacation after coming so far. We hope that you will return and visit us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Extremely clean, updated, and family friendly. Front desk offered lots of advice to travelers, morning breakfast bar got us filled up for hiking in Yellowstone, and the pool was great for the kids at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We make every effort to make our hotel a fun place for every member of the family as well as their pets. We're glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay. The weather has been unusually cool and wet the past week so we hope your hiking adventure was a pleasant one. We hope that you took advantage of our huge hot tub and dry suana as a great way to relieve those tired mussels. If you should choose to return to Yellowstone in the future we hope you will give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose West Yellowstone so we could be close the park. While it is a very touristy area, this was a very pleasant hotel with nice spacious and clean rooms and a place to catch up on laundry. We were on the first level and had an outside and inside door so we could easily pack up the car. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was quite good. My hubby loved the instant pancake maker. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Yellowstone. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review so that others can learn from your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed our hot pancake machine and our new breakfast service. We have gone to great lengths to expand and improve our breakfast service this summer and it is rewarding to hear that our guests appreciate those efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next Yellowstone Adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple days of our honeymoon at the start of May at the Kelly Inn at West Yellowstone. Firstly the hotel is a fantastic location for (obviously) the west entrance of the park. It literally is 2 minutes away. We were given a double queen bed room and it was huge. Additionally it was great you could park right outside your door too. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms contained all the amenities that you could need. The bathrooms are a little basic but you can forgive that as we had 2 wonderful nights of sleep.

The spa area is particularly lovely, especially at night after long walks in the park where the light is dimmed and the light of the pool areas (blue) are enhanced. The spa pool is wonderful and the swimming pool is nice and warm.

The breakfast was a really nice added bonus and contained everything you could possibly want before a day walking around the park.

I wanted to finally add how nice the staff were. The red headed lady at reception was particularly lovely (apologies I didn't get your name) and really gave us some good tips. Finally, on our final day we had to call our car rental company as we wanted to change the details of our drop off destination. A really kind lady who I believe was the chef/cook for the breakfast gave us her phone to use to avoid any expensive charges using my UK phone dialing a US number.

Thank you for a great stay Kelly Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff and facilities. It sounds like you had a great time at the hotel and hope your experience in the park was even better after traveling so far to see Yellowstone. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will return some day and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.