We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant place to stay in a winter West Yellowstone environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kelly Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“pleasant place to stay in a winter West Yellowstone environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This out third trip to West Yellowstone to cross country ski. The last two times we were able to go intro the winter lodge in the park. This time we could not get up there there until the lodge was closed. We stayed the better part of a week at Kelly's in one of their suites. The room was spacious, clean and quiet.

The staff was very friendly and recovered a money belt I dropped on the stairs. There was a microwave and small refrigerstor in the room.

Breakfast was fairly good with a pancake maker and boiled eggs on the counter.

Some dishes and silverware in the room would have given it a higher rating.

We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite it is not expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us this year and would choose to stay with us again. As you mentioned, our suites represent an excellent value for those guests who visit in winter and reserve them in advance. We provide those mini refrigerators and microwaves in every guest room but unfortunately, since we do not have a restaurant with commercial dishwashers, we can not provide permanent dinnerware for use anywhere in the hotel. However, the disposable dinnerware used for our breakfast service is always available at the front desk upon request at any time for any guest's needs.

We were so glad that one of our employees discovered your travel pouch on the stairs before someone else picked it up and looked inside. Based on the amount of money inside with no identification it is quite likely that it might not have been turned in. Since the loss was not reported to the front desk or the local police we had a difficult task tracking down the owner. We were relieved that you had not checked out and were able to spot one of the many signs we posted all around the hotel in an attempt to locate the owner as discreetly as possible.

The employee who turned it in to us was very appreciative of your generosity and recognition of their efforts. We are very fortunate to have such a great staff of employees whose dedication and professionalism have helped us become one of the most popular hotels for returning guests in the Yellowstone area. We hope that you will become one of our many returning guests and will choose to stay with us again on your next Yellowstone adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    215
    98
    23
    15
See reviews for
267
243
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed two nights with our family of four. Two roomy king beds in room were extremely comfortable with fresh bedding. Frig and microwave in room were convenient. Hot breakfast was basic but perfect to get us on our way for our snowcoach trips into Yellowstone Park. Staff was very friendly. Lounge area recently renovated with beautiful stone fireplace....staff indicated plans are to renovate lobby and food service area as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mom and I travelled from Jackson to West Yellowstone for a snowcoach trip and stayed at the Kelly Inn for two nights. The staff was incredibly friendly and the facilities were nice (extremely comfortable beds).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent snow coach tour of the park. We appreciate so much continued support from all our neighbors in Jackson and hope to see you often in the future. Thanks for adding to our extensive list of reviews so that others who are not as familiar with our hotel can make an informed lodging decision when visiting Yellowstone for the first time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in WYellowstone one night. This hotel is ok but we wouldn't stay there again. We were so tired from all the activities of the day and every time a car drove up outside, we could hear the doors slam and the people talking. We heard this most of the night since we go to bed pretty early. We would probably just visit WYellowstone again just for Wild West Pizza and move on to another place to stay. Not worth the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to West Yellowstone last September. We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the outside parking lot noise. You didn't mention if you were in a first floor room or had your window open for you to be disturbed by such normal activity from outside. It would certainly not be unusual for a very light sleeper to choose to turn off the AC unit and open the window in September's mild weather. We apologize that you didn't sleep well. Though our rooms are constructed with 6 inch thick walls with sound blanket insulation, unfortunately the windows and doors do have limitations as a sound barrier.

For extremely light sleepers who are looking for the most economical lodging choice we recommend checking the TripAdvisor reviews for some of the small motor motels in town. They are generally built of concrete block on one level and have fewer rooms with far less guest traffic noise. Although they don't offer many amenities, most are clean, very economical and usually offer the quietest options of any lodging choice. These might present a more favorable option than spending the day in Yellowstone, having dinner and then moving on. Since it is at least a hundred miles and an hour and a half drive to the nearest major town that offers other lodging options most people find that West Yellowstone is the most logical place to spend the night. If you should return to visit Yellowstone in the future just give us a call and we'll be glad to recommend some other local lodging options that might be a better fit for your budget and your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip to West Yellowstone. We brought the dog and were delighted to find the pet friendly rooms had two entrances, one to interior hallway and one to exterior/ parking lot. Easy in and out with the dog! The room was a higher quality and less worn than I usually find in West Yellowstone. If a family group, the hotel is directly behind McDonalds. I do recommend this hotel if you are planning a Yellowstone trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As a neighbor from Wyoming we hope that you will visit often and choose our hotel again on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the fact they asked if we were traveling with pets - (we weren't) but clearly they are catered for. Our suite was large, clean, well equipped with a comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful but unobtrusive. Breakfast was pretty average but it was clear it was continental. Excellent place to base yourselves for that Yellowstone trip.

Room Tip: We had the suite over reception and it was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
You sure came a long way from New Zealand to go snowmobiling but you couldn't have picked a better place for it. Yellowstone is a totally unique place in winter and West Yellowstone is often referred to as the Snowmobile Capital of the World for good reason. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your adventure. Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return some day and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on June 7, 2012 - we had drove through part of Yellowstone and needed a place to stay. We had our two dogs with us which they gladed accepted and our room on the ground floor opened into the hallway (like a hotel) but also opened too the parking lot on the other end (like a motel - we parked in front of the room) - this was a great layout especially when travelling with dogs! The room itself was very cute - wood style with bears and moose decor which fit right in with Montana and Yellowstone. The bedding was comfy, room was great size and no complaints from us. It was a bit pricey but as a walk-in customer in during a busy summer season just outside of Yellowstone we expected that. Location was close to all the restaurants, attractions etc in West Yellowstone. Would most definately stay here again....oh we didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of your visit last June. We're glad to hear that your four legged companions enjoyed our unique pet friendly layout. The snowmobile folks in winter also enjoy those extra outside doors. It's a shame more companies don't spend the money to build hotels with double doors, but sadly, most hotels just aren't very pet friendly any more. If your future plans should bring you back to Yellowstone some day please give us a call and we'll be happy to share some local knowledge that might help you save some money and add to your adventure. Those of us who live hear year round really enjoy helping new visitors discover the wonders of America's first and greatest national park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.