We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High recommendation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kelly Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billings, Montana, United States
1 review
“High recommendation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful rooms! Friendly environment! One of our favorite places to stay! West Yellowstone is a great place to stay when visiting the park. Very close to Old Faithful. Can make the drive to Jackson and back in a day. Very close to the Grizzly/Wolf Discovery Center and the IMAX theater. Shopping is nearby as well. Great location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. As a neighbor from Billings, we're glad to hear that we are one of your favorites. We hope that you will visit us often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    215
    98
    23
    15
See reviews for
267
243
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After more than four years of business travel and staying in hundreds of hotels all over the United States and Canada, Gus, our handsome Basset boy, finally got to go on a real vacation to Yellowstone Park. While looking for a nice dog friendly hotel we saw all the good reviews for the Kelly Inn West Yellowstone. When we called to make the reservation the lady on the phone was extremely nice and helpfull. Check in was quick and efficient and the nice lady even came out to the truck and gave Gus and Sam, Gus' new Basset brother, delicious dog treats. We told her about Gus' rating sustem for hotel rooms. When he entered the room he cautiously walked in and took a few seconds to sniff around the room then it happened, he ran joyous circles in front of the beds barking as loud as he could. We knew then it was a good choice. The room was extremely clean and decorated really nice. The best part; not one but two King Sized beds. They were wonderful, our best night's sleep ever! Everything about this hotel was perfect. Gus and Sam will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We think Gus is on to something with that rating system. Please thank Gus for his outstanding recommendation and thank you for passing it on to us. When they finally invent an iPad for dogs he just might start a new trend in social media for pets. Please tell Gus and Sam that we look forward to seeing them again on their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We began our two week western vacation at the Kelly Inn where we stayed two nights. I am not sure why AAA gives them only 2 diamonds - we found the Kelly Inn to be one of the nicer places we stayed. The room was spacious, clean, bright and nicely furnished. The breakfast was fine - we had plenty to eat to get us going for the day. The pool was wonderful - clean and the temp was comfortable - a nice place to relax after a day of walking the park. The hotel is very close to the western entrance of Yellowstone and also within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The staff was great - friendly, helpful and pleasant, especially the young lady at the desk. We highly recommend the Kelly Inn to anyone in the West Yellowstone area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed our hotel. We have had similar questions with AAA about their rating policies. Unfortunately they are a very old firm with very old standards and their guidelines are very firm and unchanging. Their reasoning for such a low rating is that since we elected to build our hotel with our make up vanity outside of the toilet/ shower room so that many family members can get ready at the same time, their policy will not allow them to rate us more than two stars no matter how highly we rate in every category. It is that simple. Because of that unwavering policy, we simply don't advertise or promote with them, yet we are one of the most popular hotels in West Yellowstone selling out consistently every year. We feel that AAA is currently not very relevant to the needs of today's travelers as internet sites such as TripAdvisor have become the leading source for gathering information to make decisions on lodging and restaurant choices all around the world. We are very proud to have more TripAdvisor reviews than any other hotel in the Yellowstone area and appreciate that you took the time to add your comments to those reviews. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will choose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riesel, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here three nights while sightseeing at Yellowstone. It was a very nice stay with quiet rooms, great breakfasts, and clean rooms. It is very close to town and you can walk anywhere there for souvenirs or meals. Everyone in the town was very pleasant and helpful with any questions I had. Also, free WiFi. The rooms were large and on the first floor you have entrance to your room from the parking lot and the inside hall. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ours was on the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Yellowstone. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our little town and our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We hope that you will return some day and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this lodging expecting a bit more for what we had paid. Our room was clean and the western furniture was a nice touch. My granddaughter loved the stuff animals they had laying around.
What I didn't like was the screen in the window was bent and my husband had to fix it so we could let the cool air in and not the flies.
The breakfast was terrible. Eggs were dry and not good to eat.
We had our room in the back of the motel and didn't have a very good view.
I believe for the money we paid $242.00 a night this should have been a better motel with a much better breakfast. We will not be staying there next time.
Have to say we could hear the wolves early in the morning howling. That was a plus!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our hotel based on the price that you paid. Unfortunately everything in the entire Yellowstone area is somewhat higher than most of the country due to the overwhelming demand of over 3.5 million park visitors primarily between Memorial Day and Labor Day and the heavy snow every winter. West Yellowstone is a high elevation mountain town located 100 miles from the nearest major town and surrounded by millions of acres of forest wilderness. That certainly has an effect on everything built, delivered or sold here and isn't likely to change. Therefore it is impossible to compare lodging rates and amenities here with most other communities.

The rate you quoted in your review is more in line with peak season than out current September rates. Our standard Double Queen room goes from as low as $79 to as high as $239 depending on the time of year. That is why we suggest that those looking for an affordable vacation in Yellowstone avoid the peak seasons and check the rates all year before planning a trip. Our excellent web site lists the rates for every day of the coming year as well as every special discount available no where else all year.

We're sorry to hear that you had a problem with the window screen in your room. It sounds like someone must have tried to open it and bent the frame. They are not meant to be opened or adjusted. For safety reasons we do not advise our guests to attempt repairs themselves when a call to the front desk could have a replacement installed quite easily and safely.

We're also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our free "continental" breakfast. Unfortunately the state health code regulations only allow a "continental" breakfast to be served by hotels without a restaurant on site. The county regulations define that as milk, cereal and bakery products only. We have gone well above those regulations to add scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and pancakes to our offering. However, by state law, the only meat and egg products that we are allowed to serve must be precooked and frozen. While those types of products don't compare equally to fresh cooked, we offer them at no extra cost in an effort to provide more protein. For those who would like a full hot breakfast there are a few hotels in town that do have restaurants on site that offer a family breakfast at an additional cost.

TripAdvisor is an excellent tool to review and understand what amenities and rates are offered throughout the year by every lodging facility in the Yellowstone area. We appreciate that you took the time to offer your opinions so that others have a variety of reviews and opinions to use to make their lodging choice and to pick a season that fits their travel budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Kelly in was a great "find" in West Yellowstone for our family. It was reasonably priced, the rooms were very spacious, clean, and rustic. The location was also ideal as well. The breakfast each morning was a little underwhelming, but it was food to get the day started, and it was free, so I can't complain too much. Overall a great place to stay with friendly staff, large and clean rooms, and a stones throw from the park's west gate and West Yellowstone's main shopping strip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're glad that you found us. Although the Kelly Inn name is not as well known as many of the major US franchises, we are one of the most popular hotels in West Yellowstone. Most of our guests tell us that they made their decision to stay with us based on our TripAdvisor reviews. We appreciate that you took the time to add to those reviews with your recent experience. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Yellowstone. Maybe by then the state will relax their restrictions on what we are allowed to serve on our "continental" breakfast so that we can add some additional variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived expecting a standard motel and were pleased to find wonderful western furniture and stye. The log post style beds and furnishings made us glad we chose this Inn. The western furnishings made us feel at home here. We liked the sink outside the bathroom making it easier for both the sink and bathroom to be used at the same time. The beds and bedding were real comfortable. Breakfast was good except for the dried out scrambled eggs which we found too dry to eat. The pancakes and sausages were however something that made breakfast here better than most. I partcularly enjoyed the hot chocolate.

Room Tip: This lodge is ideally located just outside the West entrance of Yellowstone. A ground level room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for submitting your comments for out potential guests to review. We're glad that you enjoyed our new lodge style cedar log furnishings. We're also happy to hear that you appreciated our unique bathroom arrangement. For those new potential guests who read our reviews it will be helpful to understand. Because our hotel was designed for families in a hurry to get ready and be early into the park each morning, we placed our vanity/ make up area outside of the shower/ toilet area so that other family members can use the vanity area while others are in the shower or using the toilet. It does speed things up with our average of four guests per room. Most of our guests appreciate this feature but we do occasionally get a comment about the lack of privacy for those who prefer to get totally ready before making an appearance. We're glad that it worked well for you.

Sorry about the dry eggs. This is a relatively new offering and we're still experimenting with the correct holding temperatures to meet health code safety regulations and still remain moist on those occasions when they don't get used up quickly. Under the state health code regulations for hotels without a restaurant that serve a "continental" breakfast, we are pushing the rules quite a bit to continue to experiment with more variety. We're glad that you enjoyed the pancakes and sausages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.