We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelly Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Comfortable hotel, convenient, quiet location off the main road in West Yellowstone.

Pros: Nice comfortable firm large bed (king), great to sleep on, very large and spacious room (suite), Western style furniture. My son discovered that he could play music with the metal lamps and other fixtures. Rooms are quiet, there is very little road noise. Staff is efficient and helpful. Laundry's on-site so you don't have to go search for it in town.

Cons: Suite on 3rd floor is located behind elevator - it gets noisy with people talking and the elevator noise in the AM and before bedtime. If you are an early riser or a deep sleeper, this is not a problem as the noise is not too loud, but you can hear it in bed. Breakfast is ok - the eggs are not great but there's cereals, pancakes, biscuits, juices, milk. TV was not showing Olympics on HD, even though it was a flat screen. Hotel is expensive because of the location.

Would have given 3.5 stars, bumped it up to 4 stars because of the excellent bed and the spaciousness of the suite.

Room Tip: If you choose a suite, choose one that is not behind the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. We're glad that you enjoyed our spacious suite room. The new 37 inch Panasonic LCD TVs were just installed in every room this year so we have not had the opportunity to upgrade our television service provider to High Definition yet. It is far more complicated to retrofit the wiring and equipment for an entire hotel than a typical home so we are in the process of reviewing our options and getting bids. One of the disadvantages of being so far out in the wilderness is upgrading to new technology on a timely basis. Hopefully we will be able to upgrade to HD in the near future to take advantage of those new 1080P TVs before your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    206
    97
    23
    15
See reviews for
257
230
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the Kelly Inn at West Yellowstone was very pleasure. Our room was spotless It was beautifully furnished and had very comfortable beds. The front desk was very helpful. Sally the owner went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Yellowstone adventure. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to visit us again. Actually we are one of three hotels in town owned by Kelly Inns but we do try to run it as we would if we did own it. Our company also owns the Clubhouse Inn next door and recently purchased the Comfort Inn in West Yellowstone. The Kelly Inns web site lists all of our hotels across the country under a variety of brands that you might want to consider on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this hotel completely by accident, when visiting Yellowstone this week. It was amazing. The hotel is right near the Yellowstone gate, and within walking distance to shops and restaurants, but tucked away far enough from the noise and clutter of West Yellowstone. The room was spacious and extremely convenient - with one door out to the parking lot and another to the inside hallway. Extremely CLEAN (you could tell upon walking in) and comfortable. The mattress was great. It was the best night of sleep we had on our entire trip. The managers were friendly and caring, and were genuinely concerned about our stay. We will stay here every time we come up.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are the most convenient as you can unload right from your car trunk and in through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a nice review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay after finding us by accident. We do recommend that all visitors to Yellowstone in summer make a reservation well in advance. We're glad that we had a room available for your stay, but unfortunately on many nights, it is nearly impossible to find a room in the Yellowstone area. Now that you know where we are we hope you will give us a call when planning your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After a long day of driving through Yellowstone, this hotel was a welcome relief. It's located a little off the main road so you don't hear any road noise and is across the street from the Discovery Center. Another plus was that the rooms had two doors - one opening to the hallway and one opening to the parking lot. That made it a lot easier to get the luggage into the rooms. The room itself was roomy and nicely decorated. We also didn't notice any noise from the other rooms so that was very good. The kids enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Yellowstone. If you would like to come play in the white stuff that Seattle probably doesn't see much of, just give us a call and we'll be glad to set up a snowmobile adventure for you this winter. Yellowstone in winter is an amazing sight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for several nights during our trip to Yellowstone NP. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our visit. The room was nice and clean. I would stay here on our next trip to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit to Yellowstone and that you would choose to stay with us again. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review so new visitors to Yellowstone can compare all of our reviews and make an informed lodging choice. If there is any activity, feature or destination in the area that you have questions about for your next visit please give us a call. If you've never been snowmobiling, this is a great place to learn. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family spent two days in Yellowstone and used the Kelly Inn as our home base. Really appreciated how close they were to the park and walking distance to lots of restaurants. We took the "family room" with the fold out sofa bed and the extra space was a huge plus. Laundry facilities worked well. Pool was average, breakfast was below average but all in all this was a good spot. If I couldn't stay in the park, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose us again if staying outside of the park. Many of the old historical hotels inside the park offer a very unique experience and offer a shorter trip to certain park attractions. We do suggest that new visitors to Yellowstone check the list of amenities carefully before choosing any hotel but especially those inside the park. Due to the age of the hotels, the amenities important to many families may be unavailable and the choice of meal options more limited than in town. We're sorry to hear that you felt that our free continental breakfast was below average after we have added so many new hot items. Not having a restaurant limits our options considerably by law but we keep trying to offer more variety. It may be worth checking the cost of breakfast as well as other meals at the restaurants inside the park since most hotels there don't offer any meals included with the price of a room. Many of our returning guests choose to spend some lodging time both inside and outside the park to get the best of both worlds and have considerably more restaurant options. We often work with guests who stay with us on the way in and leave their car here in order to take an over night tour into the park and return to stay with us on the way out. If there is anything we can do to help you plan your next visit please don't hesitate to give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family of 4 used West Yellowstone and the Kelly Inn as our home base for our exploration of Yellowstone Park. Upon our arrival, we were very pleased with the large size of the room and two inviting king sized beds! The room was clean and fresh. I also appreciated that both sides of both beds had bed sized tables and lamps. Most hotels do not have this. Unfortunately, as with so many hotels the doors shut very loudly so once people get going in the morning everyone is up. I found the front desk staff helpful and pleasant. The location of the hotel was ideal -- just a minute from the park entrance and across the street from the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center (which is well worth a visit). While we did not need it, I noticed that the hotel has a washing machine and dryer available to its guests. We did not use the pool.

My only criticism concerns the breakfast. As with many hotels, the Kelly Inn offers breakfast to its guests. Unfortunately, the food seems to be in short supply. When an item runs out, there is no effort to refill the item unless something is said to the woman charged with monitoring the breakfast area and even then there is no rush. (She acknowledged this). I'm not sure whether she has been directed to refill the food slowly or she is not very good at her job but the end result is we and others always felt short changed. I've seen the hotel address the breakfast issue before and say they have so many guests that its hard to keep up but the woman seemed to sit behind the front desk while plenty of items were out and make no effort to resolve it day after day. Breakfast is a small issue. Overall, we had a good visit to the hotel and I would recommend it with this caveat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel during your recent visit. We appreciate your bringing to our attention an issue with our breakfast service. We obviously need to evaluate and make some adjustments in staffing. This is the first year that we have experimented with providing a dedicated breakfast clerk at 5AM to prepare and handle all of the extra items that we recently added. We are still reviewing the acceptance of the additional offerings as well as the staffing talent required to handle it in peak season. We chose 3 young women this spring to rotate the duties so that we have two people every morning to handle both the breakfast and the front desk duties. However, we were quite surprised when in the middle of the peak season, we discovered that all three were expecting to give birth around the same time in early fall. Like the pioneers of this wilderness area, the cold winters here still tend to bring about a lot of autumn births. We recognize that these three employees are facing a very difficult challenge to keep up with the needs of so many guests each morning and we need to make some adjustments now to maintain our service levels. Running out of product is not an option that is acceptable. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.