We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with our Beagle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelly Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay with our Beagle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at Kelly Inn 3 nights May 11-13 and really enjoyed it. It is wonderful to find lodging that is truly "pet friendly". Many places claim to be but Kelly Inn truly is, there is no "pet fee". The rooms are huge and have small refer and micro. All the comforts of home. Plus they have a complimentary breakfast which was very good with hot items like pancakes. The staff was helpful and always very pleasant. I chatted with Sally each morning and really enjoyed her suggestions about where to eat. We enjoyed our stay so much that we changed our route home so we could stay again at Kelly Inn. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with or without a pet. They dedicate floors for those with pet and those without. Great place to stay on a trip to Yellowstone, the hotel is a very short drive from the west entrance. The grounds were well kept and the snow was plowed off the parking lot for our first stay and was completely gone the following weekend, May 21st during our second stay. Thanks for a great stay, it added great joy to our vacation.

Room Tip: Call ahead and explain what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. We always enjoy meeting new people and new pets. We hope that we will see you again on your next visit to West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    206
    97
    23
    15
See reviews for
257
230
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We would not stay here again. It snowed everyday, which was not an issue for us, except we had a ground room and no one bothered to shovel., We walked out our door in 3+ inches of snow. Very expensive for the amenities, very poor maintenece in our room., the outside door was rotting out and the security latch on our door to the hall, almost fell off in my husband's hand ( he fixed it ). The beds were very comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
We are sorry to hear that the unusual late winter weather caused you not to enjoy your stay. It is quite uncommon to have such heavy snow over the Memorial Day weekend, but thankfully it melted every afternoon as temperatures rose above freezing. By Tuesday morning the sun is shining and their is no sign that it had snowed over the entire weekend.

Yellowstone's mountain weather is certainly unpredictable and can catch everyone off guard if not prepared. We learned that several of the park's roads had been temporarily closed due to their snow removal equipment not being readily available so late in the season. Unfortunately all of our snow removal equipment had also been put away for the season weeks ago. I apologize that we were unprepared to shovel out the 23 ground floor outside doors every morning. Thankfully having both inside and outside doors to every ground floor room permits our guests to enter and leave through several lobby entrances which are sheltered from rain and snow all year.

We certainly hope that such an unusual Spring weather event won't prevent you from returning to visit West Yellowstone in the future even if you should choose to stay eleswhere. Each season here has it's own own unique merits, adventures and risks. There is a reason why most of the 3.6 million visitors a year visit Yellowstone between Memorial Day and Labor Day but all must come prepared for the unpredictable mountain weather..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My first visit to the Yellowstone NP area met with a home run on the hotel portion.

My wife and I travel with our dog which tends to limit our choices of hotels. Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone exceeded all of our expectations.

Our room was one with an outside door (I assume is to limit the dogs access to common areas of the hotel). The room also had an inside door.

It had all of the amenities expected of hotels these days (microwave, fridge, coffee service, complementary wi-fi). The continental breakfast included dollar pancakes and waffles, cereal, sweet rolls, mini doughnuts, juices, coffee and milk.

Our room had comfortable King-size beds and plenty of towels.

Our dog didn't spend a lot of time sniffing the carpet which is usually a good indication.

There was an empty lot next door to walk the dog.

A McDonald's between the street and the hotel is convenient if your are rushed to find food.

Overall, this hotel was worth every penny and I will recommend it at every opportunity. I have stayed at more expensive hotels and received less value than at the Kelly Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. It certainly was an unusual holiday weekend. The late season snow reminded us more of Xmas than Memorial Day but it was a beautiful scene to watch knowing that it would melt every day.

As pet owners ourselves, we strive to make our hotel as accommodating as possible to other pet owners while still attempting to preserve the rights of those that are allergic to or fearful of pets. Only our third floor rooms remain off limits to pets for that reason. Those outside doors for the ground floor rooms are not only preferred by pet owners for immediate outside access, but the snowmobilers always ask for them in winter. They are also handy for unloading a lot of gear for a longer duration stay. Each first floor room also has the outdoor electric pole outlet to plug in campers in summer and engine heaters in winter. It's unfortunate that due to the increased construction cost that most hotels built today do not offer dual room entrances.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was a pricey inn, but was comparable to what you had to pay for other hotels in the same area. My husband and our 12 year old son stayed at the Kelly Inn for approximately five days. We made a great choice! The rooms were clean, and we had maid service daily. The location of the Inn was good. It was close to restaurants, the Wolf Center, and the entrance to Yellowstone, but yet it was quiet around the premises. The indoor pool was fantastic. It kept our son busy when he got bored. The free self-serve breakfast had satisfactory choices. The staff were always available, courteous, and were very helpful with suggestions for activities and restaurants. All in all, we had a wonderful stay! Our only compliant is that the beds were too hard! This made it difficult to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: reserve your room early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thanks for choosing the Kelly Inn as your choice for lodging in West Yellowstone. Our entire staff certainly appreciates hearing what our guests have to say so we know if we are meeting expectations.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay but sad to hear that you didn't sleep well. We just installed those Simmons Beautyrest pillow top beds in every room about a month ago. We apologize if you found them to be too firm. Perhaps they just need to get broken in. Thus far, all of our other comments regarding the new beds have been very favorable so we'll be anxiously monitoring future comments to see if it was a good purchase decision.

Again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your comments. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit and find the beds to be broken in by then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, Pa
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just a half mile from the Yellowstone entrance, Kelly Inn was excellent:clean, quiet,well equipped. Nice to find in a little town in the middle of nowhere. Staff was most friendly, available, and professional-seemed to really care for their customers. My family and friends can visit here anytime!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thanks for submitting your review on tripadvisor. You came a long way to visit West Yellowstone and we certainly appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We are always glad to hear when our guests enjoy their stay, so thanks for sharing your comments. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again and experience Yellowstone in the other seasons as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I recently spent five nights at the wonderful, very well cared-for Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone, MT. The staff was efficient, helpful, and went out of their way to make us and our two dogs---yes, dogs are allowed and treated very well and warmly welcomed----comfortable throughout our stay. We were given helpful maps, info on local restaurants and interesting things to do. Our room, a suite, was immaculate, beautifully and cozily furnished, and included all the amenities you could want, including coffee, a flat-screen TV, sofa, writing table, desk, Internet access, and a washer and dryer just down the hall. We took a very long road trip and stayed in many hotels, but this one was by far the best. It was sad to leave it. And how can you beat a literal ten-minute drive into Yellowstone Park itself? Breakfast, which is included, features make-your-own pancakes and waffles and a variety of mini-donuts and muffins, in addition to several cereals, juices, etc....The breakfast room is lovely and spacious, too. Shops, cafes, an IMAX theater, and a bear and wolf refuge are all a short walk from the hotel. After five days, we had absolutely no complaints at all and would highly recommend Kelly's Inn! We plan to stay there next time we visit "the grand old Park." Rates in May are GREAT, too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that you will find an opportunity to return and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

after some bad hotel nights, hit this hotel to begin a week in Yellowstone park. The high points: new pillow top beds, staff liked my dog, hot tub open late after the day trips into Yellowstone, did I mention the new mattresses?
only downside for me was a "could be better" breakfast but then again,as long as the coffee is good, I'm usually fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyhill, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing Kelly Inn on your recent visit to our little corner of heaven, Yellowstone, America's first National Park. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kelly Inn and hope to see you again on your next visit. While our free expanded continental breakfast features hot pancakes and waffles, we are currently evaluating how to expand our current breakfast offering to include additional protein options. The extraordinary number of guests in summer and limited space provides a few unique challenges that we are currently working through, but if all goes as planned, we should be introducing an expanded new breakfast line up this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.