We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, but expensive Chinese home cooking in a tough tourist town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lotus

Red Lotus
19 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT
406-646-7002
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: New Chinese restaurant in the old Bullwinkle's West location just opened October, 2011. Phone 406-646-7002
Restaurant details
Description: New Chinese restaurant in the old Bullwinkle's West location just opened October, 2011. Phone 406-646-7002
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Plain, but expensive Chinese home cooking in a tough tourist town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

West Yellowstone is an obligatory tourist town that must make all their yearly earning in about six months. There are more tourist traps, fast food joints, and “Chinese” restaurants than rats and cockroaches. Low expectations are probably appropriate for most restaurants here. We tried this place upon recommendation of a local guide. They do have a menu in Chinese, and Mr. Chan the proprietor further recommend fresh trout for this homeboy and his wife. We ordered 3 dishes, the steamed “we only have 4 left” trout, a Chinese vegetable, and a sauté gai lan with beef. All are edible, but nothing to write home about. The meal cost ~$100, about 2.5 times the expected cost of the same meal in any big US city. I suspect they are the best of Chinese food in West Yellowstone. But after a week of steak and potato, this tourist is relieved to have a green Chinese “veggie fix”, no matter how humble.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    25
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cultural Seperation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I ate at this place with my Daughter who has been learning japanese. She was able to clue me into what was going on. We were sat in a section by the door, meanwhile a Chinese tour group was sat on the other side of the wall that runs down the middle of this restaurant. That wall is important. It is there so that the Chinese customers can feel separated from the customers from other races that might come in. The Chinese do not approve of mixing if they can help it.

As multiple reviewers have pointed out, this place is run by Chinese immigrants FOR chinese tourists. If you can get past that you will be just fine.

That being said , even though we were on the Gweilo side of the restaurant, the food was still very good. I think they just can't help it. My daughter had the corn soup and loved it. both of our dishes were tasty and served quickly. This was a monday lunch time, so things in all of west yellowstone were just a little slower, which might explain why we did not have the problems others had.

All in all i recommend it, if for no other reason than you now know what is going on and you can come experience what it feels like to be on the outside of a group for once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a good place to have Chinese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I totally understand this town is a remote tourist place, and should not compare with San Francisco or New York City. I checked out this place the night before we went, it looks clean and décor is fine. But when we stepped into it next day, I realize I made a wrong choice. Here are some comments I can offer to other travelers who may crave for a good Chinese meal on the road:
1. If you are not with a Chinese people tour group - don't come.
2. If you are thinking about fair priced Chinese food - don't come.
3. If you are a Chinese travel with your family, friends - don't come. Oh, do NOT order from the Chinese menu, it will cost you a arm and a leg!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our party was 3 and one was Chinese. We are felt the food was delicious and the service was good. The hot sour soup was very good. The Sichuan beef and shrimp were very good. The interior was very pleasant. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You gotta be kidding me.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

For those who want authentic chinese food look elsewhere. If you are into low grade overpriced chinese food then this will do the trick. We had a bunch of fried rice and a big bowl of noodles. The fried rice was OK but tiny for $12(We are from Richmond,BC Canada so we know Chinese food). The $16 bowl of noodles can't even compare to a good asian brand instant noodles like ShinRamYun or ChuQianYiDing. Soup base tasted like it was just soy sauce and water. Hardly any other seasoning or veggies. The kicker is that this places charges you a TIPS on your order. What a joke! The other american diners had way better service and food for less and wasn't so bold to charge a tip. Best to bring an instant noodle next time if you crave Chinese!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Red Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.