We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in West Yellowstone - don't miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Madriz

Cafe Madriz
311 N Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT
+1 406-646-9245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe Madriz brings the authentic taste of Spanish cuisine to southwest Montana all in a family friendly atmosphere. The Cafe Madriz experience is all about the food, the wine and the company.Enjoy everything homemade from scratch, hot and cold tapas, soups, salads and desserts. Also featuring imported products including Manchego cheese, Serrano ham, chorizos and many more.And of course, we serve PAELLA, our signature dish and arguably the most internationally recognized dish from Spain.
Seattle
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best dinner in West Yellowstone - don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved our dinner at Café Madriz, from the light & lovely sangria, to the delicious onion soup, tuna tostas, pinchos, and out-of-this-world garlic mushrooms. Generous portions of all for a very reasonable price, and excellent service. What a great find in West Yellowstone. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    78
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staying at a campground outside of West Yellowstone, we wanted a take out dinner of something other than the ever present BBQ or burgers. The staff at this quaint little restaurant were very helpful and accommodating. Calling ahead to order, they said our dinner would be ready in 40 minutes. Timing our arrival for that time, we found our dinner ready and well packaged for travel. The two cold tapas were both yummy, while the paella was just out of this world! This was absolutely the best paella we have had in a restaurant! This is a don't miss if in West Yellowstone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Tapas gem in West Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a find this was! I had read the stellar reviews re: Cafe Madriz, but figured we'd be in the mood for something quick and easy after a long day of sightseeing in the park. Boy, am I glad we decided to give Cafe Madriz a shot.

We arrived around 8 p.m, without a reservation. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant was packed, but the hostess graciously found a tucked away table for our party of 3. As travellers who have had our share of Tapas, we eagerly read through the menu and planned our attack.

I was extremely impressed with the wine list...all Spanish and certainly not easy to come by in West Yellowstone. I found a wonderful Rioja that was a welcome change from sucking down water from my Camelbak all day.

Service was prompt and efficient. It's clear that Cafe Madriz is run by a chef and staff that are experienced in creating an excellent dining experience. As the dining room is small, I could hear the communication in the kitchen as orders came in an out. Everything worked smoothly and we were served by a team of servers who brought out each dish in a well timed performance.

The dishes were fantanstic. Among our choices was a wedge of Spanish tortilla, a spicy calamari and rice plate, champignons in a garlicky wine sauce, braised chicken, amazing shrimp, an EXCELLENT onion soup, and crispy fried potatoes with a blue cheese sauce. I'm sure I'm missing some of the items in our spread, but you get the idea.

Needless to say, I highly recommend Cafe Madriz if you are feeling like something different than pizza, burgers, etc. But be sure to make a reservation...you might not be as lucky as we were!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best of West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cafe Madriz would be a great success in any competitive market. Tapas selection for everyone. For cold tapas, the cheese and meat (various cured meats and sausages) selection was outstanding and portions of each generous. The blue cheese was especially tasty. Sautéed shrimp (with spicy peppers and garlic) was great. The red Spanish wines were wonderful, even with the shrimp. Service was friendly, helpful and efficient. Choice of inside or outside seating. I'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great Spanish wine list. We loved every dish that came out. We found it by accident while doing laundry across the street. After reading the menu and sampling a tapas, we made reservations for our family of six. Kids loved the food as did adults. Friendly service, but they were a bit harried. Tapas restaurants are very intense for the service staff. Small place, be sure to make reservations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Madriz also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Madriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Madriz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.