We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay screaming kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone River

Yellowstone River
West Yellowstone, MT
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$230*
and up
Yellowstone National Park Small-Group Wildlife...
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yay screaming kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The view was very beutiful, but one thing spoiled my visit. One family with not one, or two, but three screaming kids. Yes they litterally screamed and cried the entire time totally ruining the setting. If your kids are making it obvious they do not wish to be someplace why keep them around to ruin it for others...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, clean river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great views & falls. One of the stops along our private tour for a day. Water is super clean, and no dams!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of the Most Painted Rivers in the U.S. & for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My dad was an artist, and I grew up among paintings and art books. I saw many paintings of the Yellowstone River, so when we got there, we had to take a look from as many places as we had time for. We went down the 328 steps to the lower falls viewpoint and then climbed back up (whew!), went out to Inspiration Point and Artist's Point, and walked along some of the rim trails.
What a wonderful experience. Almost a visual overload. We enjoyed the geysers and the wildlife in Yellowstone, but the River was overwhelmingly our favorite.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great fishing on the Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent a day on the Yellowstone floating down and fishing. 3 of us probably caught over 30 trout. We got bites all day long, beautiful scenery every turn.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do the backcounty hike if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I took the 4.5 mile south rim hike along the yellowstone river and were able to see the river, the canyon, the upper and lower falls without all the tourists. Highly recommended. The hike can also continue past Uncle Tom's stairs into thermal features and into a bison filled meadow! It was worth it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone River also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.