We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it your last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Motel

Holiday Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Motel
Save
You added Holiday Motel to your Saves list
24 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Make it your last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

While the owners were very friendly the rest of the place left a lot to be desired. Rooms were marginally clean. No air conditioning (thank goodness we beat the heat wave), no TV, no hairdryers. They did have a small fridge, a micro and provided us with a fan......We had stayed in another motel two days prior to checking into this one. Paid the same amount for both motels, but the first one was hands over fists superior to this one. Also, location was way off the beaten path and a dog barked until almost midnight.....hmmmm. If you're desperate stay here. Otherwise, even if you have to pay a few $$ more stay somewhere else. Our clue should have been that every other motel was booked solid and this place had several vacancies. In fact, I think we were one of 6 rooms occupied. Nice family though, so I hope they make it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowstonemapco, Owner at Holiday Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
After reading your review, we looked up the room you were staying in and did a full inspection as to why you felt it was only marginally clean. We felt the carpet may have been the reason and we didn't disagree! We replaced it that week. It had had a pot of coffee spilled on it and try as we might to clean it, it kept reappearing. Also- we have added 32" flat screen TV's with Dish Network! Hopefull that will make up for the lack of air conditioning. With an average temp here of 45 at night, most people are happy with a fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here because our 1st choice hotel could only accomodate us for 2 of the 3 days we were staying in W. Yellowstone.

The Good - Rooms are small, but clean, and had a small fridge, a micro, Wi-Fi, and a fan.

The bad - The 20 something year old Zenith TV was not working, and when we brought it to their asttention, were told its not working because they were converting to - I believe he said Dish. There was no Air Conditioning, Location also was away from the beaten path.

The ugly - Because there was no hair dryer in the room, we went to the front office to see if they distributed hair dryers upon request, thet said, sorry, no. Then we heard the TV in the back room was on and operating. Asked why does the back room/rersidence(?) have reception and the rooms don't, we were told they're working on it. Also, the rate charged was the same as the #1 rated Alpine Motel, where we stayed the 1st 2 nights, and would have stayed for all 3 nights had they had the availability.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless its your last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowstonemapco, Owner at Holiday Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The satellite TV is on at the Holiday Motel. Most rooms have been outfitted with 32" flat screens and Dish Network. The rest will be shortly! Also- if you choose to stay withus and don't travel with your own hairdryer, I would be happy to lend you mine! That's how we do things in Montana. Sorry I wasn't home to lend it to you that day! Just a quick note to update anyone who reads your unfortunate review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thanks to a disaster of a stay at Moose Creek Inn, I ventured down the street and found the Holiday Motel. What a break! Talk about turning lemons into lemonade. The Holiday Motel was so much more spacious and accommodating. Jeff, the owner, made sure I was happy with the room and gave me a great deal. I ended up staying an extra night. The location certainly has it's own charm, and I fit right in. My kind of place. A great LARGE remodeled room with the best WiFi of my trip. Since it's a few blocks down the street from the main drag, it is very quiet. I slept like a baby and wondered why anyone stays at the Moose when I got so much more at the Holiday Motel for allot less $$. I like staying at places where the owner (and not a corporation) takes charge. Thanks to the Holiday Motel for taking me in late in the evening after the nightmare at the Moose Creek Inn. Great stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's very refreshing to deal with the actual owners when you check in and what-not. This motel has that small-town feel. It's really well-kept, and if there are any issues, the owners are very accomodating.

Do you get sick of feeling most of your money is going to corporation-executives who don't deserve it? WELL FOLKS, at the Holiday Motel YOUR MONEY IS GOING TO GREAT PEOPLE WHO EARN IT.

Lisa was one of my favorite people to deal with at all the motels & hotels we stayed at on our long road-trip. I'm glad I didn't go with a more expensive place!!

The Holiday Motel was open VERY LATE IN THE YEAR, past the regular tourist-season. We stayed there October 31, 2011.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Eschew glamor and enjoy the real America by staying in a trailer park next to a junk yard. The Holiday Motel's surroundings are awful, it is even next door to a crazy barking dog-on-a-chain and bearded yokels loading up their gun rack at night. Yet its location is at the same time brilliant, being in West Yellowstone.

And here's the rub. Because local hotel owners confuse West Yellowstone with the French Riviera, they think they can charge more per night than the US national debt. Not the Holiday Motel, it knows it overlooks an eyesore and has to keep the prices reasonable ($100 per night compared to $200+ for rooms only two blocks away).

And the best part is the rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable ... albeit a little dingy with only one small window, though as I've mentioned, in some ways that's a blessing. The owners are nice too.

So if you want to visit Yellowstone without being royally ripped off, stay at Holiday Motel. Just close your eyes when you arrive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've got to say that my experience at this motel was a memorable one. We panicked that the park was completely full and contacted Holiday Motel. The owner was so accommodating and pretty hilarious. He came running to the door when we couldn't figure out how to lock it, had recently renovated the bathroom and ceilings (which he was proud of.. Looked good!), and recommended restaurants at which to dine the following morning. I loved that it was family-owned. Such a relief from staying in campgrounds all week. Refreshing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Newly remodeled rooms with the pre-war wood panelled walls remaining. More like a nice hotel room than a motel. Very friendly owner, with great food recommendations around town - that he marked for us on the town map which he illustrated! In a quiet part of town off the main road, but close enough to walk to everything in town (including the Hungry Bear pancake house across the street)! Great wifi signal for those who can't do without, new fridge, coffee machine, and newly remodeled bathroom. Would definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Motel

Address: 24 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the Holiday Motel retains the charm of a different era. Rooms are small but the bathrooms are large. The walls are tongue in groove wood and parking is directly outside your door! We are currently working on a total remodel of the property and this takes time but the rooms that are completed are lovely! We are off the beaten path but it is quiet. The best breakfast place in town, The Running Bear Pancake House, is just across the street and each room has microwave, fridge and in room coffee. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.