We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in West Yellowstone...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar N Ranch Restaurant

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
890 Buttermilk Creek Rd, PO Box 250, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
406-646-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $42
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant has changed the epicurean landscape of southwestern Montana. Offering world-class cuisine to a colorful pallet of visitors has brought to our small mountain community a taste of something wonderful. In honoring the value of tradition while embracing bold and daring ideas, the Bar N has become a landmark restaurant Yellowstone Country. Full bar, exceptional wine list. Dinner & Breakfast Service. Advanced reservations are encouraged.
1 review
“The Best in West Yellowstone...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

What a nice treat to get away from the busy crowds in West Yellowstone...the drive out was an adventure, the food, staff, service, views...everything was wonderful and relaxing...if you are looking for upscale dining, this will,be your only option...enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    50
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wish I lived closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

best of the best. steak was as good as they get. service was second to any. the building was worth the trip,the drive down the lane lead to the experience. I live in northern Calif.but this is as good as any we find. For the meal the price fit. The service was also excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service in West Yellowstone area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had a bad experience at a couple of other places in West Yellowstone and found this place online and they were the only ones around that had Bison Steaks and Elk. Best Bison 16oz Ribeye I have ever had! The entire experience was excellant. Thanks to David and Dale for the great service. I'll be back when visiting your area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A+++ Gourment restaurant in West Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Awesome food & ambiance! The ONLY place for high-end gourment dining in West Yellowstone! Great bar. Employees are all very friendly. Food is fantastic! Wine list & pricing great! We went 2x's and both meals were perfect. Beautiful ambiance in the dining room with timbers and authenic woodwork throughout!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor service,avarage food, not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I could not find many options for dinner in town, and based on reviews 41/2 stars decided to try.
The restaurant located about 10 minutes driving west of Yellowstone. A dusty unpaved road led us to the restaurant. You can see cows grazing on the side of the road. and beautiful view.
The building has a ranch style decor. We were greeted by the host who led us to the table and although we had a reservation, and the restaurant was almost empty she was about to place us in a corner table. I asked for a table with a view and she she let us sit by the window with a beautiful view but very dusty windows covered with birds dropping not very appetizing I then thought be careful what you wished for...poured our glasses with iced water that had a tiny little looked like lemon pulp floating in it. I didn't touch it. She then took the extra silver and glasses from the table but left one of us without, something we noticed only after the bread & butter arrived but there was no server to be found by the time we noticed it so my son grabbed it from an empty table near by.
The server was indifferent, inattentive
Average food - dry burger.
In short -pretentious place but reality was another story.
I am not planing to go back tonight, or sometime soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar N Ranch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.