We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics and no more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Express Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Express Motel
4 Firehole Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just the basics and no more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

You get a clean bed, bathroom, tv and fan. Not much but it's the cheapest place in town (at $90/night) and you get a clean room. It's within walking distance of the main street, shopping and restaurants. The walls are paper-thin so take some ear plugs or sleeping pills to block the sounds of any noisey neighbors (ah, ah, ah at midnight if you know what I mean).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missoula
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Pony Express in the RV park. We came back because of the fond memories we have of the trip. We had out of state family with us and we brought our Great Dane, Sophie. We had advance reservations for a bus tour of Yellowstone for the whole family but when we got into town we ran into a problem. My wife had made reservations with a doggy day care for Sophie months earlier, but the person had gone out of business so we had no place to leave Sophie and there was no way we could leave her locked up in the RV for 10 hours. I volunteered to be left behind and watch her but when we went in to cancel my tour ticked, Jeremy, the manager said he would be glad to take care of Sophie for us. What a fantastically nice gesture, Jeremy did a great job and as it turned out it was our last family vacation with my wife's mom, she passed away six months later.

We love the staff at the Pony Express they always go out of their way to ensure you have a great time. I can't say enough good things about them and the way they treat their customers. We are back in Yellowstone and happily staying at the Pony Express once again.

Room Tip: I have never stayed in the hotel , just the RV park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

You get a bed, a small tv with terrible reception and very few channels,( I want my ball games). The lighting is a joke, impossible to read or work puzzles. Price is expensive for what you get. Cannot in any good faith recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you want to look at Yellowstone by night from your hotel - choose Pony Express Motel
Just across the street from the park.
The hotel : Nothing fancy, but it's clean / no bugs. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Nice large bathroom.
Ice - can be collected over by Brandin' Iron hotel (where you check in). Not a problem.
We would stay there again, if we come back to W. Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, the first two nights we stayed in a room that was across the street from YNP. The room was clean and very cozy had wooden walls, two rooms with queen size beds. Only one tv in the main room, no microwave or telephone oh yeah if you are from the south like me dont expect an air conditoner cause there are none in this motel. My two issues with this room was first the shower i am 5'6 and was taller than the shower head and had to bend down to take a shower, however the water stayed
nice and hot forever so i guess it
worked out :) anyway here is the biggest problem with this place the
first two nights my husband and i
felt like something was crawling on
us at night, in fact there was... we thought it was roaches the first night and my husband complained to the front desk. The maid came and sprayed while we were out that day. Second night same thing.... So hubby caught one and showed the front desk the next day we were told it was beatles. Ok so we switched rooms to the one we had originally wanted that had a small kitchen for our second two nights. This room wasnt as homey as the first room it looked just like a regular hotel room but with a small kitchen. It had a microwave, toaster, fridge, stove, sink, some dishes, dish towels and dish soap. I didnt have a issue with this room until i tried to use the stove, the baking sheet that was supplied didnt fit all the way in the oven so the door was cracked open while cooking and the knob seemed to be wrong i had it at 400 for 25 mins to cook dinner just like i always do at home and it way over cooked and burned our dinner we went out that night. Beware of the stove :) there was one mattress in this room that needed to be replaced it was very uncomfortable. Good things about this room was it was nice to sit at a table and enjoy a meal together without being in a resturant, it had a tub/shower, laundry area was across the street. Oh yeah on saturday evening we had our windows open and were trying to sleep but there was loud music coming from down the street.....
We ate breakfast every morning at the brandlin iron inn (thats where u check in for pony express) let me say this about the breakfast, there truly needs to be a sign in front of the toasters that reads: be curtious of others and dont touch their food if its in the toaster before yours. There was two morings where i had put a bagel in the toaster, walked over to get my children some cereal and some rude a** french guy got my bagel out and sat it on the counter and then proceeded to cook his toast. By the third day i stood right there and guarded my food while it cooked he still did this to other people. Other than that
breakfast was enjoyable.
I would stay here again if the beatle problem was fixed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

This is a basic room, we paid just over 80.00 for two and it seams a little steep for what you get. Don't expect anything other than a small tv, old matress and thin pillows. No hidden gem here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in room 2 of the Pony Express motel and loved it. The knotty pine walls made us feel like we were in a cabin in the north woods. Directly outside our door was Yellowstone National Park. How often can you stay directly across the street from a national park??
When I walked in, I initially flipped because I only saw one queen bed - but we had a whole other bedroom with the additional queen bed. Probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I've been in. Would be perfect for a family (it was just myself and my husband).
The shower was a square stall and rather small but that is the only down side I can think of for the hotel. I used the laundry facilities next door at the RV park and was pleased at only $1 to wash and $1 to dry.
Don't hesitate to stay here - but request one of the rooms overlooking the park. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room directly across the street from park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Owner at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Pony Express Motel! Thank you for letting everyone know about your positive experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back in West Yellowstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 4 Firehole Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pony Express Motel in West Yellowstone, next to Yellowstone National Park. Rustic hotel motel lodging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Express Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pony Express Motel to your Saves list