We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Evergreen Motel to your Saves list
Evergreen Motel
229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adorable and Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and decor of this little Mom and Pop location! The owners were very sweet and helpful during my stay, giving me great advise on dining and shopping locations. It was one of the best values for my money that I had on my trip. I highly recommend this location to anyone visiting the West Yellowstone area. I'm sure you'll be as comfortable there as I was. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    86
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
171
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champlain, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Evergreen Motel last week and couldn't have been happier. The hosts were very helpful, shopping and restaurants easily within walking distance and the rooms were very pleasingly decorated with fresh paint, carpeting and some really nice fixtures, not to mention the price was very reasonable. The mattress was extremely comfortable and sleeping was easy - no noise from the street. We would definitely recommend this motel without hesitation and if we ever go back, there will be no doubt where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For us, this was not a good experience. I had expected a great one night stay after reading all the reviews before I booked the room, and was very surprised that almost none of the reviews reflected our stay. The room was very very small--this really was not the problem at all. We were told beforehand that the room was small and to go look at it first. Yes, it is small, but we have stayed in small rooms before. For the good about the room: it did have a bathtub, but if this is what you want be sure to ask for it at the time of your reservation, as some rooms don't have a tub. There was a microwave and small fridge. No coffee or hair dryer, but that was fine for us and if someone needed a blow dryer, they evidentally will lend you one. It was clean and decorated nicely. The bad about the room: It is very strange that the electrical outlet in the bathroom is up on the wall about 4 to 6 inches below the ceiling. There was no way I could reach it and my 5'10" husband had to really stretch. There was a very strong overpowering air freshner type smell in the room that lingered, even though we opened the windows. The worst part was the thin walls and noise from the next room. When the people were taking showers (and I think there were parents and a couple of kids), it sounded like they were right in our room. The water sound in the pipes and in the shower itself, was loud. Also we could hear them walking around. There is a note that says something about quiet time after 10 pm, this noise was from 11 to midnight. It was hard because we needed to get up at 5 to be on the road. We did not tell the owners, as 1. it was so late and the office was closed and 2. We left way before they were back in the office. So be aware that if the people in the next room get in late, you may have a hard time sleeping. And though it was not a problem for us, know that the rooms are very small--at least the one with one queen and tub. The owner Sara is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergreenMotel, Owner at Evergreen Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for this review of our property. I hope potential guests find this information useful in planning their stay in West Yellowstone.

We apologize this stay was so unpleasant and that our motel did not meet expectations.

First, I want to mention again that our rooms are small. It is mentioned on our website in 2 different places. It is mentioned in just about every review, and in almost every response we write. We feel our price should be an indication as to what we have to offer, seeing as we are one of the 3 lowest priced lodging choices in the whole town.

I will also mention again that we were built in 1931. Us small and old properties up in the mountains definitely have our quirks! I will say that I am 5'1, and I would never allow something in our rooms that I was not able to reach.

We use the standard motel airfreshner, Febreeze, and if anyone is sensitive to this, we recommend letting us know before hand so we can leave that step out of the housekeeping in your room.

Lastly, while we cannot control the amount of noise a neighbor is making, it is important to let us know of such problems and allow us to do what we are here to do! All of our guests are asked at check in to look at the helpful information sheet located in each guest room, and while this guest specifically looked at it to notice our "quiet time" hours, I am very surprised that they failed to see our after hours phone number. Hearing your neighbors water while showering, flushing and brushing seems to be an industry wide occurrence and being an old property, we are certainly not the exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here! The hand written note and yummy huckleberry candies were nice touches. The room and bath were very clean and decorated in a whimsical north country theme. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a group of 4 (2 couples). Was pleasantly surprised when we arrived that we were upgraded to a larger 2 bedroom room. It had plenty of room and a small kitchen. Really appreciated the personal note left in our room. The staff was very courteous and helpful giving us a map of the town with places marked that I had asked to find. The free wi-fi and cookies was nice! Our room was pretty quiet and the bed slept great! Wonderful little local hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location in West Yellowstone. Great price. Great hosts. Small but clean, cozy room. Plenty of information provided regarding the area by hosts. Great stay for exploring the west side of the park. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narva, Estonia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great place. Clean room with comfy bed, free wi-fi, excellent room rates, coffee and snacks in the morning, nice hosts. Sleep quality is very good for the motel, it seems that the rooms are quite soundproof.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Motel

Address: 229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Evergreen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel West Yellowstone
Evergreen Motel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.