We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Evergreen Motel to your Saves list
Evergreen Motel
229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was there in October for a few nights and loved the place! The owners were very personable and helpful. The rooms are a rustic, western theme. I was most impressed with how comfortable the bed was, almost as if I were at home. (The handwritten welcome note was a nice touch, too). I would love to stay here on my next Yellowstone trip, which may be next fall.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    88
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
176
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We recently visited the Evergreen for a one night stay and it was great. I read the reviews and it held up its reputation. The room was very clean, beds comfortable and the man who checked us in was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. I would stay there again. If you are looking for a pool or spa it dosen't have those amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have stayed many times at the Evergreen Motel. Have always had excellent accommodations and excellent hosts. Always eager to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Will always choose Evergreen over larger hotels.
We appreciate your hard work and wonderful hospitality.
Minnesota Peterson Family

Room Tip: Host and hostess great source of information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Evergreen motel is a very handsome motel. The staff is very nice. The location is conveniently close to Yellowstone NP. The flat note is probably the price: it is a little bit expensive even if the rooms are really cute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergreenMotel, Owner at Evergreen Motel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It looks like several people have found this review to helpful, so thank you for taking the time to post it!

The national average room rate in the US is $107.03 for 2013 so we are right at the national average for our rooms at peak season and for destination areas, we are low. In high traffic tourist areas the average is closer to $200. In fact, in a place that receives over 3 million visitors annually, the Evergreen is most often the lowest price you can find! Our guests often mention the value in our property and we have to agree!

We'd love to have you back with us and perhaps try visiting in early spring for excellent wildlife watching and beat the crowds, in the late fall for world class fly fishing and the elk rut or winter for a truly unique western adventure. All of these time periods offer rates at half the price of peak summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were here for 5 days in October, just hitting the end of the season for Yellowstone but man the weather was beautiful, the hotel was a great place. Extremely comfortable, and the owners amazing, so helpful. Although breakfast is not available the office always had amazing coffee flavors, muffins and warm cookies all day. The owners are as I said amazing and go the extra mile to insure their guest enjoy the experience. This place is a definite on my return list. The town of West Yellowstone is great and affords you an easy in/out to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. An easy place to walk about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergreenMotel, Owner at Evergreen Motel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Congratulations for hitting the #2 on your bucket list! We agree that Yellowstone should be high up on anyone's list.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed Yellowstone National Park and thank you for choosing to make us a part or your trip.

We hope when you return, you'll stay with us again and see our improvements we try to make every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Fl
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the evergreen motel in October for 3 days. I found the motel through tripadvisor and it was a great stay. Owners very nice,room very comfortable,price at $50 a night was unbelievable. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The room featured a log chair and desk which were very cool. A fridge and microwave and flat screen tv mounted on wall. Only word of caution is the bathroom toilet area is quite small if your a big person. Overall a great stay and I will definitely stay again on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife, 10mo old daughter, and I made our first visit to Yellowstone NP this past September (2012). I always read a lot of reviews so tried to book the Alpine Motel in West Yellowstone, as it's ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. They were full, so we went with #2, the Evergreen.

I made reservations by phone about 3 weeks in advance and paid the non-refundable deposit by CC (the non-refundable deposit may be a negative for some). I would suggest making reservations much earlier if you're going during peak season, perhaps 2-3 months early at least during the months of May-August. We stayed the last week in peak season, so it wasn't very busy. Even so, the price is very reasonable.

We were so delighted when we arrived at the Evergreen Motel. We came in very late in the evening on the day of our check in, which was after business office hours, so didn't meet the staff, but we had called ahead (important!) and they left a key for us and everything went smoothly. The room was extremely homey. The exterior was cute (the parking, like everything else here, is very small. You might find it annoying if you have one of those humungous SUVs), and the interior was even more adorable. The wood frame bed, the small table, the decor--everything was very simple, but very nice, albeit a little cheesy perhaps.

The room was also very comfortable. The bed was a nice firmness, there were a variety of pillows, a small refrigerator (which is great when you have food packed for a trek through the park) and the bathroom was perfectly adequate. All that being said, many people will find the rooms small...very small. We got the single queen bed with no kitchenette. It was plenty big enough for two adults, and we even set up our daughter's play yard without issue. It was tight, but it worked. We heard no other noise from the neighboring guests the entire time we were there, even though the parking lot was rather full.

All in all, the Evergreen was a wonderful motel that I'm glad we had the fortune to experience. At just over a mile to the west entrance of the park, it was convenient, too! We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend the Evergreen to friends.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal. Noise was not an issue anywhere in the motel, and it's so small, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Motel

Address: 229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Evergreen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel West Yellowstone
Evergreen Motel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.