We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter-Private Coach Tour of Yellowstone Nat. Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Bus Day Tours

Buffalo Bus Day Tours
415 Yellowstone Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
800-426-7669
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover all that nature has to offer when you join the knowledgeable Buffalo Bus Touring Company guides on a tour of Yellowstone National Park. Ride along in their luxury coaches while you learn about the park’s flora and fauna, natural history, wildlife, and geothermal activity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter-Private Coach Tour of Yellowstone Nat. Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On February 15,2013 our family rented a private coach tour of the Yellowstone Canyon area such as the Artist Point area and other locations around the canyon and falls ...The Views were astounding....BUT what made the day special for us was the services rendered as our Guide for the day ....His name was Mr Tim Daley....His passion for the Park and its unique place in our country's history of Nat/Parks is formidable.....His knowledge of the park and it's lore was simply amazing....We had two young grand children with our group and he was able to explain the science of the park so that a young person could undersatnad the signifigance of what they were seeing...His explanation of the secrets of the Norris Geyser park was very exciting....Tim made the day a wonder for all of us.....plus he's an entertaining local resident with rhetorical mastery of the english language....he's a pure blood irish american , born and raised in West Yellowstone...We were fortunate having beautiful weather , a warm comfortable snow coach and all was well.....We felt the tour to be fairly priced....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    19
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“SUPER trip, excellent guide and great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked a vacation package for 5 nights with Yellowstone Vacations which included 2 tours with Buffalo Bus (and 2 days snowmobiling). The first tour was the Canyon tour. This did the north loop and it was spectacular. Our guide was Old Tim and he was super entertaining and informative and really did a great covering of the park, history, geology and animals in an interactive fun manner and from the perspective of a true "native" of West Yellowstone. Bus picked us up at the hotel each time promptly at 8AM and dropped us off each evening. If you need shoes, they will go to the office so you can get some.

The Canyon tour included a walk in the Norris gyser basin where Tim would gather us close, have us close our eyes and "liste" to yellowstone, which was a great experience and one we tried to emulate throughout our trip as it really is a different point of view. We bought the lunch which was filling enough and had a great day.

The second trip was the Old Faithful tour. Again, we had Old Tim (usually they try to have a different guide so you have a different experience, but scheduling did not permit)... but he tried to touch on new information and we learned new things. The tour included of course Old Faithful (again we brought lunch which REALLY saves on the hassles of buying when we compared it to other pax who did not)... They have warming huts there to eat, which was perfect. Then we did a geyser walk at Lower basin which was wonderful. Of course both tours included many wildlife stops and photo ops as well.

The tours are great but a lot depends on the van mates. We had a small snowcoach on the first trip, and they were really fun and energetic. The second trip was the super large coach and there were a few "pains" (not dressed warm enough so someone was always saying they were "cold" even though half the bus was sweating to death)... Anyway, Not the fault of the company, but if you have the luxury, I think I would have loved a private tour with a small group. But overall, it was a wonderful way to visit Yellowstone in comfort and warmth with info all along the way.

As far as Yellowstone in winter, it was everything I imagined and more. White wonderlands, animals, steaming geysers, colors against stark white, no crowds, silence... in a word, breathtaking. Definetly a trip of a lifetime. Yellowstone Vacations and Buffalo bus were a joy to deal with, delivered everything promised in the package at a great price and handeled everything efficiently, affordably and with a smile. Special thanks to Teri who put everything together for us! The Floridians LOVED the trip! Many Thanks, we'll be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

With the exception of the North entrance of the park at Gardiner, Mt where one can drive into a portion of the park, the only way to view Yellowstone National Park is by snow coach or professionally guides snowmobile tours.

The Buffalo Bus Company uses snow coaches with tractor type treads on both front and rear wheels. This enables them to turn better than the snow coaches with ski type front wheels. The company operates both medium size (8 passenger), a slightly larger coach, and 34 passenger buses.

My wife and I took both the Old Faithful and Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone tours. They were a little over $100 per person each and were well worth it. On both tours, the guide/ drivers were knowledgeable and friendly.

We were in a Suburban (8 passenger) snow coach on the Canyon tour which we found better suited to us because we could ask the driver to stop when ever we wanted to stop and see something.

The tour to Old Yellowstone we were in a bus coach and in addition to being less personal, the windows were steamed up about 90% of the time while under way. In defense of the guide/ driver, he stopped each time he spotted anything that he thought might interest us. However, a lot of time was wasted exiting and entering a bus load of 30 people. Like all bus tours, you are limited to the time you have to view sites by the time allotted by the tour guide.

Both tour guide/ drivers did a great job describing the ecosystem of Yellowstone National Park. I would definitely recommend the Buffalo Bus Touring Company, but would only take the tour if in one of the medium sized coaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
“Whole new appreciation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went to Yellowstone to see winter animals...we came home with SO much more!! Thank you Tim Daley of Buffalo Bus Touring Co. for showing us another side of our first national park. It's not about the mountains or animals (which we saw plenty of), it's about the geology!!! When you realize you've spent the day in the mouth of THE volcano you'll never see the Park the same again. Old Tim taught us geology, Latin and Greek and we loved every minute of it!!
The photo opportunites were phenomenal for Jim!!
If you want a new Yellowstone Park experience be sure to request Tim Daley, he has 41 years of driving tours thru the park and he was born and raised in West Yellowstone, he knows all the secrets and loves to share them with you!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Snow coach tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I first learned about the Yellowstone snow coach tours about 3 years ago and, ever since, have been eager to go on one. Finally made it this year and the trip exceeded my expectations! We were picked up at our hotel in West Yellowstone and entered the park around 8:30am. Our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and seemed to really care that we had a good tour -for example, if we wanted him to stop anywhere so we could get out and take photos, he was happy to oblige. The sights of the park were fantastic -the geology and the wildlife. The snow coach was warm and comfortable, and (unlike a snowmobile tour) I liked that our guide could tell us about things as we drove along.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Bus Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Bus Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Bus Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.