We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest B&B's I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone School Inn
Save
You added Stone School Inn to your Saves list
820 Third Street, Valier, MT 59486   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Valier B&B and Inns
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the nicest B&B's I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you want to stay at one of the best-decorated and comfy places, this is it! Valier is a very small town not far from the entrance to East Glacier's Going-to-the-Sun Road, so if that's your destination. it's a nice night before the drive. It could also be used as a base to visit the park for a few days, depending on the amount of driving you are willing to do. Would definitely go back here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Valier is only a speck on the map but the Stone School Inn isn't. It is an amazing building with lots of charm. We stayed at the Raven Room, which has a great bed and is beautifully decorated. Breakfast is not included in the price but for $10 per person Suzan is more than happy to make a very decent breakfast. An interesting and beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We took a flyer on this B&B when planning our trip from Glacier and it was well worth it. Valier is a tiny town but the setting and this lovely renovated old school house made for a fabulous stop on a long road trip. Nicely furnished and decorated, the Inn has a comfortable homey feel; I would definitely return either as a destination or a great jumping off point for trips to Glacier Park. Rooms were large and beautifully furnished, beds were comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the owner was very pleasant. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Incredibly charming B & B. Beautifully cared for, immaculate and full of character. Susan is really interesting and don't forget to buy a couple of the gorgeous soaps she keeps on hand. Tied it in to our visit to Glacier and it was a lovely drive to the plains to get there. Well, well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our 2 week motorcycle trip from Wyoming to Prince Greorge BC,took by the Stone School Inn. We loved it! It was beautiful with amamzing decor. Clean!!. Susan was very nice and fun to visit with. She made us an amazing breakfast. For those who like to ride, this is a good ride and a great destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed May 29-June 3, 2013 in a romantic and stunning place on our 14 days trip from Norway via Seattle to Iola, Wisconsin. Best breakfast we had during the entire trip. Owner Susann did everything possible to make our days and nights a top experience. An old fashioned, charming and clean B&B place in a small Montana town that used to be more flourishing 70-80 years ago. Gave support to the target of the trip - finding grandpa's nearby place where he stayed 110 years ago. And we found the 100 years old clock tower on a neigbouring barn.Beat that! We recommend Stone School Inn as a quiet and fine place, a school built and taken into use the year that grandpa retuned to Norway (1911). Øyvind Kvaal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Travelling from Glacier National Park to Theodore National Park we stayed with Susan in this lovely B & B .Admittedly it is in a remote place only 400 souls live here but Susan is a lovely hostess, the room we stayed in was charming as is the schoolhouse with a game room downstairs, Breakfast is a good one and Susan is an interesting escapee from Los Angeles.In the evening we took a stroll down to the lake which is nearby and Susan's garden is full of goafers which in itself is entertaining.Treat yourself to a stay here if in the area you will love the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone School Inn

Address: 820 Third Street, Valier, MT 59486
Location: United States > Montana > Valier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valier
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone School Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.