We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs "to die for!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon
21 Main St, Three Forks, MT 59760
406-285-3698
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Three Forks
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ribs "to die for!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well worth the short drive into beautiful Montana countryside to have a fabulous dinner. The ribs were excellent. The service was friendly and prompt. I love the "country" décor. We'll go back every chance we get. Reservations highly recommended every night of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ribs so good you'll leave cross eyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had heard raves about this restaurant for years but never made it out to try it for myself. After enjoying absolutely every bit of our experience, I can't believe I've been missing out on it for so long. This restaurant looks like it probably did 100 years ago. In the teeny tiny town of Willow Creek, MT, if you blink you'll miss it. When you first enter the building you are in a bar that looks like its strait out of the old west, then you enter the restaurant and it follows the same authentic feel. Most importantly, the food is AMAZING. This restaurant is known for its ribs. The sauce in mouth watering and the flavor of the sauce is unlike any I've ever tasted. Those in my party who didn't order ribs ordered steaks and had raves about their meals as well. And I was most surprised to find a desert that I would have expected to find in the fanciest of restaurants. As full as I was from the ribs, I couldn't stop going back for more of their Russian Cream. MMM. For anyone in the Gallatin Valley area, this restaurant is a must visit! You'll never forget this meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Willow Creek: Where the Pavement Ends... and so will your diet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hit this gem of a cafe on the right night and you'll be dreaming of their succulent ribs for the rest of your life. Long a staple for local cowboy ranchers and residents, I am almost sorry to say that the ribs (in a highly secretive sauce) at Willow Creek Cafe are no longer a well-kept local secret. Packed for dinner most evenings, the almost 40 mile drive from Bozeman and a wait for a table is well worth the experience. The menu usually boasts simple fare with potato sides, but of late the specials approach fine dining, and there are wine choices now that don't come out of a box. Last night my hubby ordered a med rare chile-lime-cinnamon blackened NY steak, and it was blow-your-mind good paired with a Washington State Pinot Noir. There have been a couple of occasions in the last six years of our patronage when the ribs were on the dry side, but usually they fall off the bone. Their signature BBQ sauce is outrageously good, and I've come pretty darn close to recreating it at home with mustard, honey, sweet vermouth, Worcestershire and Heinz 57 sauce. The cafe is a centerpiece in Stanley Gordon West's fabulous novel, "Blind Your Ponies". Look for the bicycle built for two on the front porch, a romantic icon in this touching story. Come here for the genuine Montana ranching-family atmosphere and leave here impressed by the food, friendly service and great value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best ribs in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a really special place and the food is outstanding. It's the real Montana. Service staff is very friendly and you have to try there barbecued ribs--outstanding to say the least!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the chicken fried chicken the first night and went back a second night for the steaks! Be sure to call for reservations so you don't have to wait, or are unable to get a table.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.