We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience at Swan Lake, MT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Horse Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Horse Lodge
Save Saved
You added Laughing Horse Lodge to your Saves list
22360 Hwy 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience at Swan Lake, MT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My family had 1 night at the Laughing Horse Lodge in Swan Lake, MT and had an amazing experience thanks to Kathleen the owner, and her 2 golden retrievers. It is located across the street from swan lake (gorgeous part of MT) which is close to Bigfork, Kalispell, Whitefish and Glacier National Park. My family was very impressed with the intimate room and the owner Kathleen, who was extremely helpful and knowledgable of the area. Above all, Kathleen is an amazing chief, and our family had their best dinner and breakfast in all of Montana. What a great PLACE, and we will be back! The Laughing Horse Lodge is cozy, clean, and the patio/ garden is a very relaxing environment. The Laughing Horse is great for couples, families for a fair and REASONABLE PRICE..

  • Liked — Beautiful location, nice accommodations, at a reasonable price
  • Disliked — Leaving the Laughing Horse
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
68
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Just returned from a wonderful and beautiful trip in Montana.
Our stay at Laughing Horse Lodge was incredible. The service is great and the food is spectacular!
The accomodations were very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and fun.
Can't wait to go again.

  • Liked — Evereything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed again at Laughing Horse on our way to show a visiting relative around Glacier National Park. The price and the food was far better than we could have found in or adjacent to the National Park. We've stayed several times at Laughing Horse and always enjoy our stay and our conversations with the inimitable Kathleen. There's no muss or fuss with our reservation - we just phone and ask if she has space and she saves a room for us.

It's close to Bigfork, but without the Bigfork prices. In our experience, the finest compliment you can pay an innkeeper is to return, and return again - and so we do.

  • Liked — The Innkeeper
  • Disliked — lack of reading lights on each side of the bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody/Charleston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I were headed to Whitefish, MT for a bike race. We wanted somewhere to stay for two nights before heading to the race that was cozy. The Laughing Horse Lodge was PERFECT! Our dog was in heaven with all the dogs toys. The room was very comfortable and opened up to the courtyard where we were able to enjoy a beer on tap and relax before our dinner. Kathleen was a great cook and host. Upon our arrival we immediately felt comfortable and welcome. Kathleen, thank you for introducing us to your friend Skip. He was very generous and helpful! John enjoyed his bike ride with him. We look forward to our next visit and have shared our experience with everyone!
Heather & John
(from Cody, WY & Charleston, SC)

  • Liked — Toys for dogs, Courtyard, Breakfast...it was all great!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed here for three nights with my two teenage children. It turned out to be the perfect spot for us, and a great value. Included in the room rate is a fantastic breakfast in the lodge's excellent restaurant. It seems to do a very good local business as well, atestament to the quality of the food. We also had dinner one evening, and were very pleased with our meal. Kathleen is most helpful in recommending local activities and her two charming goldens were our enthusiastic escorts on one local hike. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and decided to take a last minute trip to Montana - we have two little dogs so we needed a comfy place to stay that would allow them. What a gem we found in Laughing Horse Lodge at Swan Lake. A very comfortable rustic lodge that accommodated us all very nicely - the food was wonderful and the surrounding scenery just gorgeous. We will definitely return.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We spent two nights on the Fishermans Special, We were treated like kings for the entire time we were there. The food was the best we have ever had on trip. Kathleen is a great hoast and an excellent chef. The rooms are clean and very quiet. The fishing was slow, but we will be back next year,with some friends, just for the great food and and peacefull stay.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 22360 Hwy 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake
Laughing Horse Lodge Swan Lake, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.