We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishmans special Very Special !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Horse Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Horse Lodge
Save Saved
You added Laughing Horse Lodge to your Saves list
22360 Hwy 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Twin Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fishmans special Very Special !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We spent two nights on the Fishermans Special, We were treated like kings for the entire time we were there. The food was the best we have ever had on trip. Kathleen is a great hoast and an excellent chef. The rooms are clean and very quiet. The fishing was slow, but we will be back next year,with some friends, just for the great food and and peacefull stay.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

My husband and I went to Laughing Horse Lodge for a weekend getaway. We had wanted to spend a fun, relaxing, and inexpensive weekend in Montana for our anniversary, and our main reason for choosing Laughing Horse Lodge was the food. We wanted to be able to relax in our room, travel to nearby hiking areas, and enjoy gourmet/organic food without having to search for it. We were not disappointed! Kathleen served us absolutely wonderful meals: huckleberry-peach pancakes, perfectly-done steak, and salad with wasabi dressing were among our favorites during our few days there. And my husband was delighted by the Moose Drool on tap! Because we were the only visitors during our stay in early May, it felt like we had our own private cabin, but with a gourmet chef at our service!

The lodge itself is separated from the eight guest rooms by a small courtyard, and the rooms are small but very comfortable, with beautiful varieties of wood and country decor. It's rustic, but not in the cheesy, overdone kind of way; rather, it is tastefully designed and decorated and has just-right touches of elegance and class. As travelers who are happy in a tent but who also relish the luxury of a four-star hotel, we found that the Laughing Horse Lodge was suitable not just as a place to stay, but really as a place to linger and relax, much in the same way that some might enjoy relaxing at a guest ranch type bed and breakfast. Kathleen made us feel very welcome, offered great conversation, and truly gave us the royal treatment.

One thing to note: there are a few friendly dogs, a cat, and a parrot on the premises, so I wouldn't recommend it for someone who doesn't like animals. We do, though, and we found ourselves wishing that we had our dog along, as the lodge is pet-friendly (although clean and I would never have guessed that our room ever had guests with pets).

  • Liked — wonderful food, relaxing atmosphere, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — obnoxiously loud bathroom fan and funky room heater (just old)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Laughing Horse Lodge over Memorial Day weekend 2008. We had a wonderful time. The lodge is located close to many hiking trails and right across from Swan Lake. Our room (3) was immaculate and inviting. The grounds were decorated beautifully with a garden and seating with shade. Our favorite part of the trip was the cuisine. Breakfast and dinner (with an optional packed lunch) is provided at the main lodge and served by a friendly staff in an inviting and warm environment. Kathleen, the cook and owner, is amazing. Everything she served was carefully prepared and delicious. My husband and I have lived in many parts of the world, and Kathleen’s cooking competes (if not surpasses) some of our favorite restaurants in Chicago, Vancouver, Paris, and London. Not only is the food selection varied and wonderful, Kathleen’s selection of beer and wine is outstanding as well. My husband and I would highly recommend staying at Laughing Horse Lodge.

  • Liked — The warm and inviting owner and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

The Laughing Horse Lodge is AWESOME! Cute, Cozy, and Clean. It is right out of the nostalgic past. The owner is terrific, wonderful and fun... I am so glad I stayed.
I wish I had not spend so many days at another Motel which was more expensive and downright dirty... I could have stayed here longer !

Rooms are very comfortable. Beds and linens too! You can tell Kathleen has worked hard to make the Lodge into a top notch stay. I will be back...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

My husband lucked into this place while on our honeymoon. We were tired and hungry and were welcomed in and given drinks while a room was prepared. The owner, Kathleen, does all the cooking and the food was just fantastic and gourmet. She and her colleagues come around and socialize and obviously love what they do. The room was all rustic wood-- very lodgy and cozy. The courtyard was filled with wonderful sculptures and plants. And the lodge's dog and cat mascots roamed around and socialized too. It was a really special experience-- beautiful scenery and accommodations and super friendly to people and pets!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

My husband and I are from Albuquerque, NM and we were traveling around the Flathead Valley because we'd like to relocate here. We stayed at bed and breakfasts because they are more personable and we wanted to get to know locals. Kathleen's bed and breakfast was by far our favorite. Beautiful location, sweet rooms, fabulous food! (we totally recommend going there for breakfast, lunch and dinner!), Kathleen was so helpful and friendly, she really gave us a homey feeling. She recommended some great hikes and even trusted us to take her dog, Nikki, with us! We loved it and will be back!

  • Liked — Great food, sweet rooms, we were treated very well
  • Disliked — Our bed was a little too hard
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Laughing Horse in late September 2007. It's a comfortable, relaxing lodge. The food is wonderful (the big baked chocolate chip cookie is amazing) and the owner is engaging, well travelled and worldly. We had several very interesting conversations on several topics.

If you're looking for a place to kick back and relax and enjoy intelligent and witty conversation, this is the place. If you're lucky, Samson (the African gray parrot) may talk to you.

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 22360 Hwy 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake
Laughing Horse Lodge Swan Lake, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.