We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours

Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours
26356 Soup Creek Rd, Swan Lake, MT 59911
406-387-4405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Swan Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swan Mountain Outfitters offers summer wilderness pack trips, float/fishing trips, custom trail/wagon rides and guided hunting trips in and around the Bob Marshall Wilderness. The Tabors' home, Swan Mountain Ranch, serves as a unique guest ranch facility to complement summer activities and fall hunting trips and to host weddings and family reunions
Borrego Springs, California
1 review
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pat, We had such a great time at the ranch with you and Joanne and your entire staff! Mike was exceptional and made our ride and stayover at Pony Lake an amazing experience. Thanks again and please ask Mike if he can send any of the photos he took on our ride.

Best regards,

Rick Vesci

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    5
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great scenery and ride, but certainly not quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved the staff, the horses, the scenery, the ride. Tops in safety, on time and friendly. Went on Cracker Flats ride.

We always ride when we go on vacations and certainly have never experienced the following: The lead rider SHOUTED the entire time to describe what we were seeing. Trouble is when you are last in line of 22, you hear NOTHING but certainly hear a lot of loud YELLING!!!

The constant barrage of noise distracted from what could have been a very serene ride through the woods and meadows. I don't understand why they do that.

Perhaps the first few people in line enjoyed hearing about everything, but maybe their ear drums were bristling by her attempt to be heard by everyone???

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Trail Ride with their Glacier Natl Park team - AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My siblings, boyfriend and I did a 1 hour trail ride at Lake McDonald and the guides were AMAZING! All of them!! We were all beginner riders and they made us feel safe and confident from the start. You can tell the girls working at the Lake McDonald stables love their jobs and are passionate about the horses they work with.

The horses themselves and gentle and relaxed. A very easy ride. The guides fully prepped us before we got on the horses and catered to each person's skill level.

This experience has made my boyfriend and I want to horseback ride everywhere we go!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Llama Trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose to go llama trekking because- well, just because. Have you ever gone llama trekking before ? In truth, the llamas took second place to the experience of walking through the beautiful forest, having wine, cheese, and goat sausage by a meadow with the mountains as a backdrop,
and best of all having a wonderful conversation with our guide, Caleb. If you choose to go on this
adventure you will have a great time, and I know you will have a charming guide, but unfortunately it won'tbe Caleb

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
1 review
“4-hour trail ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our horseback riding trail ride with Swan Mountain Outfitters was the highlight of our trip to Montana! Our guide, Harris, was knowledgable, very outgoing, friendly, funny and yet always had the safety of his group foremost in his mind. The horses were responsive, not the usual "dead" horses you get other places. We went through a variety of beautiful terrain and had lunch (provided by SWO) on the mountain with a wonderful view. The ride was actually longer than what we signed up for which is never a bad thing. We would absolutely do this again if we get back to that area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Mountain Outfitters Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.