We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock Motel, Inc.

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherlock Motel, Inc.
Save
You added Sherlock Motel, Inc. to your Saves list
133 5th Ave S, Shelby, MT 59474   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Belvidere, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay here if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This was a comfortable place and the owner was a real cool guy. The decor was retro, beds comfortable, coffee in-room was Wolfgang Puck-great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I had seen the first review, and this sounded like my kind of place. We were not disappointed. We got a big second floor room for about $60 +tax. The room appears not to have changed since it was built (maybe 1969). We had an awesome three tone orange shag carpet, and plenty of rumpus room paneling. The bathroom was clean, and looked original, with some sort of wacky sparkle pattern vinyl walls. The towels were much nicer than at most old motels. There is a huge and funky vanity outside, with plenty of space for luggage.

The room itself was decent sized, and had a desk/chair, coffee maker, fridge, TV, an armchair, and a good-sized bed, which was comfortable and had nice linens. You also get a real blanket, which is probably important a lot of the year. The heater looked really beefy, and doubled as an a/c unit. We left our windows open for some fresh air, but you are close to a rail yard, and eventually the sound of BNSF humping rail cars got to be too much. With the windows closed, it was reasonably quiet. We would absolutely stay again, and the room is pretty well set up for longer stays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was a great stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although the furniture may have appeared older and the carpet worn, the room was clean and good sized. The only drawback for us was it is entirely non smoking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Sherlock Motel was right out of the sixies, but was clean and functional.Nice location ( for Shelby MT ), right by downtown. An Albertsons grocery is a block away. Big window overlooking the local neighborhood. As nice a view as you are going to get in Shelby.

If you like older mom and pop type motels, this one sure fits the bill. In keeping with the sixties feel, try walking uptown to eat at the Sportsman Bar . Great neon inside and out, good food, and several taps of Big Sky Brewing beers.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherlock Motel, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Motel, Inc.

Address: 133 5th Ave S, Shelby, MT 59474
Location: United States > Montana > Shelby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally May into October. Older, well-kept facility. Making sure our rooms are clean, cozy, and comfortable is our number one priority. Our customers tell us that our free WIFI is excellent, and they really like the gourmet coffee service in their room. Be in the middle of it all. We boast the closest access with a level walk to downtown dining, shopping, and nightclubs with casinos. We're just a short block to the latte shop and only grocery store. Our facility is situated in a quiet residential setting, but conveniently located between major churches, mortuary, and courthouse. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherlock Motel, Inc. Hotel Shelby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock Motel, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.