We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and well ran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Eagle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Eagle Motel
Save
You added Red Eagle Motel to your Saves list
HC-72-Box 11, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Nevada
1 review
“Cozy and well ran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Had a great view. Cozy and convenient. Jhonsons cafe was close and great food. Nice people had great service. Rooms were clean and family owned. Beds were cozy and warm. Lake was near by..

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    16
    18
    18
See reviews for
12
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

The Red Eagle is very handy for an early start into the magnificent Glacier NP. Views from the motel are wonderful, but that’s about all you could say for the place.
This motel was the worst value for money for our entire trip in the USA. We had intended to stay in Browning, but the one motel we found there was so poor and overpriced that we decided to continue to St Mary. Unfortunately, there are very few choices of accommodation in St Mary – which is the only plausible reason that the Red Eagle is even in business.
Cleanliness was adequate; furnishing was very old fashioned and rather worn. The bathroom had been put together by an absolute amateur and looked like a demonstration of how not to do the job. In fairness though, everything worked. Tea/coffee making was not provided in the room, but was available at the office – only in office hours, of course, which is very inconvenient, particularly when the office didn’t open until 8 a.m.
After visiting the Park, we drove south through East Glacier which looked to be much nicer than St Mary with a better selection of accommodation (the Going To The Sun Road was closed beyond Jackson Glacier).
Would only stay at the Red Eagle again in an absolute emergency and could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Views and access to Glacier National Park
  • Disliked — Just about everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Mary hotels

illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I will preface this by saying that my wife and I are not the outdoors type that like to hike and camp out, we just like to travel and see the scenery . We usually stay at medium rated motels, ie Comfort Inn , Quality Inn or comperable places. That being said we would have prefered a tent to the room we stayed in at the Red Eagle.
There are not many lodging choices at the Eastern entrance to Glacier and the Park lodges were booked, my fault for not planning enough in advance. I booked the Red Eagle based on reviews in Tripadvisor figuring that you can not please all the people all the time, and the price of $75 cash or $80 credit card. I just want to second ALL the negative things that were written. Of course this is all based on the room we stayed in, I briefly walked into one other room and it appeared worse. I was also leery that there very few pictures on the Red Eagle web site, after arrival I knew why. I have posted 3 with this review. for some reason the detail is poor.

The good.
Location; clean; large room; the view

The bad.
Check in staff used one word answers, after 2 questions I got the message and stopped chatting, hard to have a conversation with yourself, not rude but certainly NOT friendly.
Office hours are something like 8-6, if you want to check out early or need something in the evening your out of luck.
Room decor is circa 1950, with the furniture being actually from the 1950's. The furniture looked like it came from the trash heap, not a resale store as they would not have accepted it as a donation. This includes the bedding.
The bathroom has a painted cement floor with a plunger prominently displayed next to the toilet. Use the toilet once and you will realize why the plunger is there.
The shower is a small one person with an open floor drain, we didn't use it as we didn't know what would appear out of the open drain.
Drywall taping (finishing corners and seams) looked like a 1st grader did the work, no offense to 1st graders intended.
No TV or internet. When I booked they told me the internet (no mention of TV) had been down for a week, still waiting for a repairman. Upon arrival 1 week later still no internet OR TV. Same price for the room though.

To recap if you arrive late and just want to sleep or are hikers weary from an active day this room may be fine for you. If you like to unwind from a day of driving or sightseeing in your room this probably is not the place for you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We are tourist from the Netherlands and we stayed one night at this motel in room no 5. The girl at the front desk was not very friendly when we arrived.
The room was very old, the carpet in the corner smelled like someone had urinated there. The bathroom was old en not very clean.
On one of the blankets we found a large stain.
We wouln't stay here again.

We would recommend the Johnston Café next to the motel. Great food!

  • Liked — the access to Glacier, the view
  • Disliked — not clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I have stayed at the Red Eagle Motel on three out of the four vacations that I have taken to Glacier National Park. The rooms are nothing to brag about. They are clean and roomy.
The fresh mountain air and the proximity of the motel to the park make this a great place to stay.
Your not going to find hair dryers here, TV or a fancy shower head with incredible water pressure. Your in the mountains, not Las Vegas. Enjoy the view and the millions of stars that you can see at night.

  • Liked — Laction
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

My wife and I are retired South African tourists , we had been touring around Alaska,Montana, Idaho and Oregon and Washington State by car for three months.
We arrived at this St.Mary's Motel and booked in early afternoon on June 4th after reading a recommendation in the local Glacier Park tourism newsletter. We were told at the desk that there was accommodation at the rate they mentioned ($80.25) provided we slept in one bed in a room which had two beds, which sounded a bit odd.. We complied and stayed in Room no 8 for one night.
There were several issues which we raised with the desk attendant who said they would send someone to fix, but nobody arrived.
the TV was not in operation at all.
the shower head would not give full water flow, the rest ran out uncontrollably into the bath via the faucet.
the toilet seat was very loose.
there was no light in the doorway area, it was broken, parts had been stripped.
the following morning there was not a cup of coffee available, we were told that the coffee machine in the office was broken.
The sign on the door said that nobody would be available at the office until 08h30, as tourists we could not wait.
I sent an e-mail with a list of our issues (which were more than just these items) once we returned to our Portland OR base on or around 10th July but received no reply.
We are back in South Africa now and decided to write this and frankly would not recommend this establishment unless there were significant changes..

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Without a reservation we drove up the hill looking for a place to stay. The lady in the office said she had one room left and it was a cabin all by itself called Grizzly Cabin. Driving up the hill I was more than a little apprehensive with the look (just not new looking) the other buildings on the property.

We took the key to have a peek and we were pleasantly surprised to find a gem! The cabin was small, but had a living room, separate bedroom (big - 2 queens and a roll out folded up in the corner).

The bathroom was new add on. The view is superb, and you have your own porch to sit and watch the sun set and rise in the morning.

Draw backs, no tv, (but it did have a refrigerator and microwave), no hair dryer, and no coffee pot. We played cards, and watched nature for a change.

The finishing work (drywall seams, etc) are rather crude in the bathroom, but we weren't there to grade it or spend time looking at it.

Close to the park, and you dont feel like one of thousands staying there.

  • Liked — A cabin apart from everyone else great views
  • Disliked — no hair dryer, coffee pot or tv or internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Eagle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Motel

Address: HC-72-Box 11, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Red Eagle Hotel Saint Mary
Red Eagle Motel Saint Mary, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Eagle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.