We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap, but not great place to crash outside Glacier NP” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Eagle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Eagle Motel
HC-72-Box 11, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Saint Mary
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A cheap, but not great place to crash outside Glacier NP”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was here, or $300+ at the big lodge at the entrance to the park, so the $95/night room won out. This is a very dated property, no fridge, microwave, or any other amenities. Lumpy beds, no air conditioning (but a fan, it was hot when we stayed there). The carpet was grungy as well, but the bathroom, towels and bed linens were clean.

The owners/managers were only grudgingly helpful when asked questions, almost as though they didn't really want to be working there, so don't expect good hospitality. Given that we were on bicycles, we'd stay here again given the options, but if you're in a car, you might want to stay a bit further from the Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    11
    17
    16
See reviews for
11
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cascade
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've stayed here for the past 6 years for our annual trip to hike in Glacier. Our room is always clean, the staff in the office are friendly. The few minor issues we've had were promptly addressed to our satisfaction. Price is very reasonable. There's no amenities, but we are not in Glacier to stay in the room. We are there to enjoy the magnificent beauty of Glacier, and Red Eagle is conveniently close to the park.

We've already booked our rooms for this summer, and friends have been booking theirs too the past several years. In fact my fastidiously clean sister from Chicago came up with us one year and she had no complaints. Tammy is always pleasant and a joy to do business with. If you're looking for latte's and WIFI, go to Yellowstone. This is Montana, man up.

Room Tip: Great view from the second floor porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My rating of this motel is "average," but it's all relative of course. There aren't many options in this area and, among the options, there aren't any (or many) great options. The Red Eagle is just a minute or two from the east (St. Mary) entrance to Glacier National Park so that's a big positive. The accommodations are very old and bare bones....and presumably pretty dirty deep down, but not obviously dirty at the surface. There's no AC, but there was a fan that did the job just fine since it cooled off at night. Half of the outlets in my room didn't work, but I got by with the working outlets. The water coming out of the bathroom sink was basically a trickle, and the water coming out of the shower wasn't much more than that. Again, without question this place is the definition of a "dump," but assuming you're going into it knowing that and just looking for a roof over your head before you head into Glacier (for a cheap price), this place will get you by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hasn't been updated since then! Booked here only because I could find nothing else. The price was right but the quality was missing. Too bad because The Johnson's Cafe next door was really tasty. It was like a dining museum. It was built in early 1950's and is still run by the family. It was interesting how people from all over the world had stopped there and many returned years later because it was such a unique experience. We enjoyed the cafe. The Red Eagle Motel is not run by the Johnson Family.

Room Tip: I don't think there were any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while we went to Glacier National Park and Canada. We checked out the lodge down the road and they only had one room and we needed 2 it was to expensive anyway $289 per night. So we went to the Red Eagle. We should have asked to see the rooms before we checked in. It was not worth the $96 a night. They had no ice machine or coffee in the room or office. We went into the room and it was very run down, 2 double beds, the floor sloped away from the door and it was not very clean. We tried the tv and it would not work so we went to the office and she said she had just bought 5 new tv's and brought us one of them. She tried to hook it up and it wouldn't play. She then told me to try and I was on my own hooking it up, I finally got it to work. It only gets worse from here the water in the sink was just a trickle and no hot water, you had to turn the hot water on in the tub to get hot water in the sink still just a trickle. The shower was just luke warm. The walls were paper thin we could hear the couple next door snoring all night. To top it off the office hours are 8am to 8pm if they show up at all. The one good thing is the owner is friendly but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I ended up here because of my own error in booking elsewhere. Since it was the height of the tourist season, this was the only place in St. Mary with a vacancy. That should have told all I needed to know, but I was desperate. Heading to my second-floor room, I could see that portions of the balcony were built from unpainted plywood. Another clue. The room was dirty, the floor was uneven and seemed to slope. Worse, the shower ran one speed -- dribble -- and the temperature could not be adjusted. It ran from lukewarm to slightly warmer.

Can't find a room in St. Mary. Drive on or sleep in your car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed for a night on a rainy day. Got a room with 2 double beds. Room was very musty and the beds were lumpy. Out-dated furnishings. The walls had a very unusual slant to them. There aren't many budget options for hotels in the area. This place is basically one small step above tent camping. The location is great (just outside Glacier National Park). The view from the front door is awesome (just look in the opposite direction of the room).

We wouldn't have spent any time in the room if the weather was better. If its not a thunderstorm the Red Eagle wouldn't have been worth the $100/night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Eagle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Motel

Address: HC-72-Box 11, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Saint Mary
Also Known As:
Red Eagle Hotel Saint Mary
Red Eagle Motel Saint Mary, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Eagle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Red Eagle Motel to your Saves list