We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view from our RV space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's of St. Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson's of St. Mary
Save
You added Johnson's of St. Mary to your Saves list
HC 72-10, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417-9701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Glendale, Az
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Incredible view from our RV space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay here. The welcome we received at check in was warm and informative, with one of the clerks taking a lot of time to get us oriented to the area, it's attractions, and to answer our questions.

The RV space was only 30amp, which was okay for us, but the guy next to us insisted on running his generator to power both AC's. Since he said he was doing so for his handicapped daughter I didn't complain, since there is a no generator policy. Still it would be nice if they upgraded to 50 amp service.

And therein lies the only issue with this otherwise outstanding location, it needs some TLC. I understand they are closed much of the year and it's an older park, but it just needs a good deep cleaning and polishing. We have no first hand knowledge of the cabins offered here, but are aware of them having to refund the rent on a cabin to couple of guys from Spain because of their complaint about their cabin. Basically the place is starting to show its age, and would greatly benefit from an investment of capital and elbow grease.

But that's just nitpicking because I'm trying to write a fair review. Overall it is one of the best parks we have stayed at, because above all else, location rates high in picking a campground. As far as location goes, they literally are the "King of the Hill". Right outside the main gate to Glacier National Park, and with a commanding hilltop view, you simply cannot not do better than to park whatever type of RV you drive right here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in June 2014, our sites were so small our slides almost touched the rv next to us. You cannot use your awning either. We felt like sardines! We paid 39.00 a nite for electric and water with a good Sam discount. But we did find the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Mary hotels

Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place has the poorest PR of any place I've ever known. We arrived and after seeing the property decided we wanted to look at the room. To reach the room you had to go up a long outside flight of stairs and over the roof of their cafe. The bathroom was outside the room, kind of added onto the stair area with no door at the top of the stairs where, in the dark, you would have fallen down the stairs if you had turned the wrong direction coming out of your room. We would never have stayed in this place. We knew we would lose our deposit because of not staying there, however the owner who was very rude informed us she had our credit card number and would be charging us for the full amount of the room - $164.83. When we told them we would post a review on Trip Advisor they told us to "go ahead, they didn't care." We would also not recommend the campground because when we arrived at the office there was a woman there complaining because her site had no picnic table and that the grass was knee high at her site so I can only assume the campground is no better than their room.

Room Tip: This side of Glacier National Park is very remote with few towns. East Glacier might be an option...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Rented Glacier Cottage. Outstanding place to stay. 2 bedroom cottage with balcony overlooking the valley. Clean, quiet, private. Wi-Fi service available at the office. Johnson's Family Restaurant adjacent to cottages. Excellent food, reasonable. We stayed here in July of 2012

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here at their campground on the hill looking out to the lakes & mountains at the Park entrance. Level gravel sites each with a picnic table. Clean facility & very friendly well trained staff. We stayed in a 30' trailer with slides but there are sites for big rigs & a separate area for tenting with their own bathhouse. We were originally booked for 3 days but extended 2 extra night to explore the whole area. Literally just a few miles to Park entrance & within walking distance to a wonderful Johnson family owned restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Johnson's in Mid-September. Johnson's is only about two minutes from the Road to the Sun Highway entrance to Glacier National Park. I've seen some mediocre reviews of the RV portion of the business, but we stayed in one of their cabins, and our experience was vastly different.

We stayed in Curly Bear Cabin for one night, and very, very much enjoyed it. There are three cabins on the property, all on arise above the office for the RV and cabin business. The cabins are, I believe, a max of 4 years old. I believe they are identical inside. Ours was a very good sized L-shaped room with two queen beds on different sides of the L. The large side of the L also contains a large window and a couple of smaller ones, do the place is bright, and a small table and two chairs, and a kitchenette. The bathroom, with good shower, is in another room. The beds were handmade and had great mattresses and box springs. There was a nice handmade double-chair on the large front porch.

The staff was great. We ate breakfast at their on-site cafe and and it was an excellent country breakfast, with all handmade baked goods. A good start to a day of hiking and driving. We'd stay in one of Johnson's cabins again in a minute and have already recommended it to our friends intending to travel out to Glacier.

This cabin and the property were great.

Room Tip: Choose one of the three cabins at the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have to side with those who say this campground is lacking in many ways.

The Owners, especially the lady, are snippy. I love that someone already posted a photo of her sign...I though about doing the same.

If you're tent camping, then be prepared to be stacked in like firewood...everyone is on top of one another.

There are inadequate controls and no posted quiet time. People coming and going all night long. That all equals very little sleep in a tent.

Not nearly enough toilet/shower facilities for the number of people. I had to wait for thirty minutes one morning for my turn,

The old man who works there would drive though the tent camping area every thirty minutes in the morning, starting as early as 6:30, with his dog in the back of his truck. This made it somewhat difficult to keep my dog quiet. Other people's dogs were being stirred up by this also. Drive through old man, but be considerate of your customers and leave your dog behind.

On A good note:

The toilets/showers were kept quite clean.

The cafe is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson's of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's of St. Mary

Address: HC 72-10, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417-9701
Location: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Of St. Mary Hotel Saint Mary
Johnsons Of St Mary Saint
Johnson's Of St. Mary Saint Mary, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's of St. Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.