We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kid Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary

Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary
615 2nd Ave East, P.O. Box 675, Red Lodge, MT 59068 (Formerly Beartooth Nature Center)
4064461133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Red Lodge
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary is the only public refuge in Montana to house native animals that cannot be returned to the wild due to injury or habituation to humans. We care for over 60 animals and birds, many placed here by Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks, including wolves, mountain lions, black bears, bison, elk, bobcat, fox, coyote, eagles, hawks, owls and many more. The sanctuary offers visitors an unparalleled chance to learn about these and other animals by observing them at close range and through interpretive displays.
Colstrip, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Kid Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This stop kept our children (7) and (4) greatly entertained on a hot summer afternoon. Did you know that magpies can talk? Yep, we heard Harry say his name! The buffalo and the big cats were a treat as well.!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shelby twp.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It had a great informative staff that really cared about the animals. The areas were very spacious for the animals to live in compared to zoos. The ladies were feeding when we were there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My kids love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a mid-sized nature center. They have a variety of different wildlife, that appear to be well-cared for. They have amazing gardens on the grounds. It is a good learning experience for kids. The cages have signs that state why the animals are unable to live in the wild any more (mostly due to human causes). There were a few signs missing though last time we visited, hopefully they do some maintenance on those. They did raise their rates from a year ago, but I think it is a fair price, and goes to a good cause.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“$10 each there are Bears, Wolfs and Mountain Lions!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped in here after going over the Beartooth pass as we had not seen a Bear in Yellowstone and it is for a good cause. It is small but the centre is very friendly and we walked around the pens for about 45 mins. You can read how the animals ended up at the centre which can be a bit sad but at least they have a home now,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of animals and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

They recently changed the name of the Beartooth Nature Center to the Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary. It rescues all sorts of animals (orphans, injured, etc.) and provides them a place to live. We have been there several times and always enjoy it! Each animal has a description of what they are and their story. We look forward to seeing our favorites each time we go and our saddened to hear of different animals passings, such as Helen, one of the mountain lions. Don't pass by the animals too quickly or you will miss things such as Poe, who is a talking crow! He also will offer you sticks! Lots of fun!!! It is also fun to see when they get fed! Fun and educational for kids!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.