We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary

Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary
615 2nd Ave East, P.O. Box 675, Red Lodge, MT 59068 (Formerly Beartooth Nature Center)
4064461133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Red Lodge
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary is the only public refuge in Montana to house native animals that cannot be returned to the wild due to injury or habituation to humans. We care for over 60 animals and birds, many placed here by Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks, including wolves, mountain lions, black bears, bison, elk, bobcat, fox, coyote, eagles, hawks, owls and many more. The sanctuary offers visitors an unparalleled chance to learn about these and other animals by observing them at close range and through interpretive displays.
Riverton, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

10 bucks a person and no family rate. save your money and go to the museum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deadwood, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice layout. They give a story for each rescued animal so you know why it is there. Most surprising was the size of the Mt. Lion's paws! They were huge! Lots of birds to see.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time!! Lots of animals and all of the fact sheets were great to read about each of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to see some great animals up close. Great place to visit. Have been here with entire family many times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Visit when the animals are all awake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We visited in winter and enjoyed our visit but there were few animals awake to be seen. It was, however, the only opportunity I will get to be snarled at by a coyote while still being able to stand my ground. They do good work here and are worth considering.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.