We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a motel in a small town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dew Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dew Duck Inn
340 East Railroad Ave, PO Box 1098, Plains, MT 59859   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Plains B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A gem of a motel in a small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

PROS: The owners were friendly, funny & very helpful. That's something we rarely experience in one of the big chain hotels.
The room was tastefully decorated and was spotless.
The owners recommended we go to Butcher's Nook for breakfast. It's a short walk down the road. Look for the plain, beige metal building tucked back off the road between two gas stations. The food was excellent, especially the fresh baked rolls! It's a Mennonite owned & run restaurant/bakery/meat shop.

CONS: The mattress was good but a little too firm compared to our pillowtop mattress at home. The motel is near the road so you will hear traffic, and there is a train that travels through the area that blows its horn. We turned the fan on high and I used my earplugs. I slept reasonably well.
At $69 after tax, it turned out to be a great deal for my husband & I. If you stay in Glacier National Park accommodations, you will find yourself yearning for The Dew Duck Inn's quality & price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed at the Dew Duck inn for 2 weeks while I was working for a powerline contractor. Erik and Charlotte are phenominal hosts and take great pride in their little motel. The rooms are very comfortable with amenities that you would expect at higher priced motels. We spent several late afternoons grilling some steaks on the bbq and sitting at the picnic table. My son absolutely loved the tire swing, and my wife liked watching the deer and rock chucks play. The beds are very comfortable, and there is WiFi and satellite TV. If you stay here, make sure you give Dewey a good pet when you check in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end get afternoon shade sooner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are staying for one night in the Dew Duck Inn. It was not planned to stay there but we was so tired when we arrived Plains and then we decided us to stay in the little nice Motel. As we arrived it was already 10 p.m. In face of the late time the owners, an elder couple, was so hospitable and gave us a lot of information for our further trip. The room was so nicely done up and very clean. There are a microwave a coffee machine and a fridge. The little dog "Dewy" of the owners was although so cute. If we are from Germany, unfortunately, we will not stay a second time there but we can merely recommend it. But maybe we will come back sometime :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, WA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Dew Duck is a nicely maintained, clean and comfortable eight room motel within the town of Plains, MT, located on highway 200 near the junction of 28.

I stayed in room 3, which is a family room. Queen bed and a queen/full bunk bed.

Room is decent size at ~300 sq ft.. Includes flat screen tv, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker & in window air conditioner. Bathroom is small but super clean and updated with full tub/shower. Free wifi.

Owners are a nice couple that live on site and manage the property themselves. The pride in ownership is obvious.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Dew Duck a few times. Its a great little motel. Rooms are cute. One room even had three single beds which me and my two girlfriends shared. Perfect! The owner left the key out for us so we could check in late. Has a mini fridge and microwave, great deal. If your going to stay at Quinns resort its a way cheaper alternative. Friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was a great find, thanks to other trip advisor posts. Room was large and comfortable, only two drawbacks, the train whistle and the man who owns the place. The whistle cannot be helped, the owner thinks is fun to play with peoples heads - he is not fun!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I can't say enough of how pleasantly surprised we were...this is a great little place to stay! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dew Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dew Duck Inn

Address: 340 East Railroad Ave, PO Box 1098, Plains, MT 59859
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Plains
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Also Known As:
Dew Duck Hotel Plains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dew Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dew Duck Inn to your Saves list