We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Broadway Hotel
Save
You added The Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
103 West Broadway, Philipsburg, MT 59858   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Broadway Hotel for 3 nights in mid-August and found everything about it warm, comfortable, family-like complete with Josie the friendly best friend. Sue has created a most welcoming ambiance in the heart of Phillipsburg as well as a first class hotel. I would recommend it to anyone at any time of year(she's open during the winter too). If you're going to be in that area for several days, like me, ask Sue about the Granite Hideway, might be just the ticket.

Room Tip: talk to Sue about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It was great to hear your stay in our newest accommodation The Granite-Hide-Away met all your needs. We love when our guests feel so comfortable and at home while staying with us. Josie and all the staff look forward to having you return and stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
73
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great Hotel in a lovely vintage town, I heartily encourage making this stop part of your travel plans. We had a great time at the gem sorting down the road and a wonderful dinner at the Up-In-Smoke BBQ. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, Sue and her greeter Josie are very welcoming. A+.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Lora,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We love to keep hearing how our guests love to meet Sue's boxer Josie. Hope you were able to find some nice gems while you were here. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed staying at The Broadway Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt like family. Sue was there to greet us, we chatted about many things and met Josie...who was so lovable. We stayed in the Hard Rock room...it was cozy, expressed the feel of the town, and we were at home. The great room was inviting with books, videos, games and access to a PC. Breakfast was communal in the great room, making it fun to be there. I would recommend it to anyone that visits Philipsburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at The Broadway Hotel. Josie loves to meet and greet our guests and wag with happiness when they give her a pet. We love to hear when our guests feel comfortable and at home while staying with us. We hope you will travel back to the Philipsburg area and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Although we hadn’t planned to stay the night in Philipsburg, and we didn't have a reservation, we’re so glad your hotel was recommended to us by someone at the forest service station because it turned out to be a wonderful place to stay for our 30 year wedding anniversary.

The rooms were cleaner than any we’ve stayed in, including at exclusive resort hotels, and the breakfast was fantastic. As a person who doesn’t eat much meat or bread, I really appreciated the hummus on the breakfast bar. That’s an unusual item to find at any continental breakfast but it’s really helpful to someone who’s vegetarian, vegan, or has a wheat allergy. Thank you!

I will gladly recommend your hotel and I’ll definitely stay there again myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We are very happy that you had such a good time with us, celebrating such a special event. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again when you travel to the Philipsburg area.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent a night in the Andes Suite on our road trip down the left side of Montana. Philipsburg is a tiny, lovely town with many vintage buildings on Broadway, which is the main street through town. The Broadway Hotel, is, you guessed it, on that street. A beautifully restored building holds the hotel and a craft brewery downstairs. Our suite was decorated with artifacts from a sojourn in the Andes; very charming. Our only problem was that the portable air conditioner in our room was quite noisy, but fortunately by bedtime the ceiling fan and an open window cooled the room just fine. Nice en suite bathroom. Yummy continental breakfast with great muffins and excellent coffee. Super nice staff. Checkout time was 10 am, but that was ok as we headed out to the sapphire mine.

Room Tip: We looked into a couple of other rooms--Las Palomas looked great, but we loved the Andes Suite also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Broadway Hotel. We are sorry the air conditioner was noisy, we have had an unusually warm summer and they are not needed that often. We hope you had a great time at the sapphire mine and had good luck finding gems. If you head back this way again you will need to try The Las Paloma's Room. Hope to see you again when you travel to the Philipsburg area.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Philipsburg is one of those small, off-the-beaten-path places that you hope no one else will find, yet it is so worth sharing, as is The Broadway Hotel. After the required stop at The Candy Palace, we went to check into The Broadway where we'd made reservations earlier in 2013. Casual, comfortable, folksy, welcoming even though no one was at the front desk, but our room keys and welcome note were available so we made ourselves at home. It is a beautiful hotel, built at the turn of the 20th century and obviously well cared for by Sue, the current owner. I would highly recommend The Broadway and its unique rooms as a terrific alternative to standard rubber-stamped lodging options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Rusty,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Broadway Hotel. So glad you made your stop at the great Sweet Palace candy store. We are glad you like the uniqueness of the hotel. Please make sure that you stop by and stay with us the next time you travel to the area.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a special place this is, in a lovely little town in the middle of Montana. Sue, the owner, is a delight and prepares a healthy breakfast of fruit and muffins each morning after you rise and shine in one of the hotels uniquely designed rooms. We had planned to stay one night only but loved both the hotel and the whole community so much, we stayed another, and then because the fishing in Rock Creek is terrific, we even came back five days later and stayed another night--three altogether, and each in a different room, all of them spotlessly clean and individualized (our favorite is The Britannia though it's a little more expensive). The hotel computer works perfectly, and once you figure it out, so does the TV. Meanwhile, down below on the street is an excellent B-BQ place and a terrific new brewery where you can enjoy your pulled pork sandwich. We could not recommend a place more highly. Thank you, Sue. Peace and grace.--Bruce and Victoria

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayHotelMT, Manager at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Bruce,
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at The Broadway Hotel. It was so great to hear that you loved our little community so much that you extended your stay. We hope that you travel back this way again and stop in and stay with us.

Sincerely,
Sheila Butts
The Broadway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: 103 West Broadway, Philipsburg, MT 59858
Location: United States > Montana > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Philipsburg
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Philipsburg, MT The Broadway Hotel is your elegant, yet cozy, headquarters for anything you want to do in the glorious Rocky Mountains of Montana. Totally restored in 2003, The Broadway offers you modern comfort and convenience in an historic building that dates from 1890. In addition to a large guest lounge/conference center and coffee bar, you will find nine beautifully appointed rooms that range from cozy Queens, spacious Kings and large suites complete with sitting rooms. A deluxe continental breakfast is provided for guests in the main hotel. For larger family groups The Broadway Hotel offers an off site 2 Queen bedroom cottage, The Miner's Snug which is great for families or groups. We also offer a romantic off site 1 full-bedroom apartment The Granite-Hide-Away. Both of these units are self-sufficient. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.