We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Ice Cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Brothers

Doe Brothers
Broadway, Philipsburg, MT
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
BTM
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Summer Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife has a Huckleberry addiction (don't let her know . . . she can be like a hungry grizzly sow in a huckleberry patch if you don't feed the addiction).
We'd participated in a local Brew Fest and stopped in for a dish of Huckleberry Ice cream. Service was quick and friendly, even though the town was hopping after the music stopped.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natural Bridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Visit town for lunch after Sapphire mine visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best BBQ...they have a sweet huckleberry BBQ sause!!! Had a pulled pork bbq sandwich, Great milkshakes and onion rings....!!!! Wow lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great historic place with poor customer service and not good food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Took a trip to Phillipsberg and always stop here for food. This Father's Day we stopped in on a fairly steady day and it appeared every worker hated there job. Poor customer service. I ordered a bison burger which was a little burned on the outside but rare and undercooked on the inside. My son didn't like the taste of his burger said it taste fatty. The older guy serving ice cream looked like he hadn't washed his clothes in awhile, stains on his shirt and shorts. Staff was grumpy with no smiles. It's lost it's appeal to us and we won't be going there again. Not a fan anymore. After eating there we noticed a few new places to eat we will be trying. On a side note the Owners daughter of the Sweet Palace was rude to so maybe it was just to busy of a weekend for the small town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Soda Shop with Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stopped at Doe Brothers for lunch on our way through P'Burg. We were pleased that the food was good and the staff friendly and helpful. We both had burgers, made with 1/3 lb angus, and they were very tasty. I also had a side salad that was crisp and fresh , and the blue cheese dressing was delicious. We enjoyed the historic items on display, as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
650 reviews 650 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 514 cities Reviews in 514 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Philipsburg is a great little historic town, off the beaten track, surrounded by the most amazing mountains.

When on the road we are always looking for a great Malt place and this is it. A real soda fountain in a historic town. Just doesn't get any better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Doe Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.