We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeee-haaaa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch at Rock Creek

Save Saved
You added The Ranch at Rock Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranch at Rock Creek
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   79 Carriage House Lane, Philipsburg, MT 59858   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Yeee-haaaa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Having only ever ridden a horse once in my life before, and really not enjoying it, to say i was apprehensive about the Ranch holiday is an understatement! However, why i was concerned i'll never know. This place is knock-out.
This isn't any old ranch, it's pure luxury, in the most amazing location, simply breathtaking.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Each day we could choose what we wanted to do in terms of activities - horse riding, shooting, archery, walking, fly-fishing or cycling. And everyone gets their own guide (or cowboy), so what would cost around £500 a day in the UK for a professional gilly for fly-fishing is included here! And as for the riding, well i went out twice, and even cantered (i think!) once.
Oh and the food - best i've had in a 'hotel' for a long long time.

Room Tip: We had a trapper tent. The bathroom facilities are not in the tent so it's not ideal, but the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
42
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been lucky enough to travel the American West for years. We have stayed in true rustic ranches and fine hotels but this tops the list by far. If you love authentic western antiques and decor, true attention to detail in every aspect, genuine service and an extraordinary setting... book now. Luxury bedding, high end gift shop, wonderful food with a genuine atmosphere. The ranch gives you the feeling you are in an historic ranch remodelled but still authentic. great for families or couples . We will make this an annual destination.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I visited this ranch for 2 years and the scenery and the staff were wonderful. We went the first years that they were open during a week when we were the only paying guests. The Staff was wonderful and the lodge and activities were were first class. Some of the things were not open yet and they were still building the physical plant including the pool. The horse facility has bought some better horses for novices which they had very few their first year.I really enjoyed the wranglers which have been replaced with some of the English Taught riding staff. I am glad to see they did keep some local wranglers which MAKE the whole WESTERN experience. The Owner had looked for a place for over 20 years and the Place that he found has some of the most beautiful scenery that you will see out west.
The Lodge rooms are decorated over the top and are kept sparkling.
My main activity is riding and if you ride everyday and stay for a week like we did both times , you will ride the whole area.The Ranch did really accommodate us with some off-ranch riding adventures that were first rate.
They have a lot of other activities like sport shooting, paintball, archery,and fly fishing. All of these have very professional staff to assist you. You are also given a bike which I enjoyed going from the Lodge to the Barn daily.
We have visited about 15 ranches and was told that we would be given a discount off our nightly rate after our stay last year if we decide to return, like most other ranches do, for loyal customers. I was disappointed that they didn't honor when I called this year to take advantage of this.For this reason, We decided to go to another ranch on Gene Kilgore's list this summer

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My family just returned from the Ranch at Rock Creek where we stayed for 4 days and it was absolutely the best vacation we ever had! There is so much to do here and in 4 days we did so much and still didn't experience everything they have to offer. It was such a pleasure to know our kids were having the time of their lives and not once did they ever get bored. The staff is so friendly, accommodating and extremely helpful in every possible way. They all seem to enjoy their job which shows through in how they treat the guests - it was very refreshing. Thomas and Maya are the ranch managers who were always around and interacting with the guests and making sure we had everything we needed. The food is out of this world and the chef Josh takes such pride in his creations and spent time telling us about what he prepared and how. My kids tried and enjoyed foods they would have never tried at home. Todd took us horseback riding and was very attentive to how our horses and us as riders were doing. Max took us on a tour of the Ranch where we saw elk and bighorn sheep on top of some of the most amazing scenery. Max later took us to the pistol range were we did some target shooting with several different hand guns and Theo took us skeet shooting where our family had a little competitive shooting challenge going on with each other. It was very comforting the time Max and Theo both took to ensure everyone was always safe and that we all knew safety was the priority. Ben took us fly fishing which was a first for all of us; we all had a great time and caught several fish. In the evening after dinner and activities were done we headed to the saloon to play pool and bowl a few games with the kids. There was a nice campfire outside the saloon with all the makings for S'mores which is always a hit. We stayed in one of the tents which are so roomy and comfortable for the 4 of us - it was perfect... and the beds... so incredibly comfortable we all slept so well. Each morning we walked to the blue canteen where Kathleen was waiting to greet us with coffee and fresh baked pastries...yum! The ranch has so much to offer and we wanted to do so much that the days just flew by. The great thing about this vacation is you can create your own schedule to do the activities you want and if you want to just relax - there are plenty of places to do that too. We hate to leave anyone out so thank you also to Todd, Tracey, Maddie and Andrew for making our trip one we will never forget! We cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

One of the best places we have ever stayed. It's hard to find the right words to describe the beauty of such a magnificent place. Even reading all of the reviews, you will get only a hint of the wonder of it. It is a place that must be experienced to be appreciated. All of the staff are what makes it a MUST SEE. We will definitely be returning for future stays. Our only regret was in knowing that we had to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bluebird Cabin which is right next to Rock Creek. It was so peaceful & relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Ranch at Rock Creek is the perfect vacation spot for those looking to get away from everything while having endless activities and top-notch accommodations. We enjoyed hiking, fly fishing, sporting clays, horseback riding, mountain biking as well as lounging at the lodge. Everyday we looked forward to the excellent meals. The staff is friendly and welcoming and goes above and beyond to ensure you are doing as much or as little as you want. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Ranch at Rock Creek is a spectacular property that has everything anybody could want/wish or dream about!!
We participated in all of the unusual activities for an Easterner, including skeet shooting, rifle range, archery range with standard target and also three dimensional targets of animals, horse-back riding and hiking and 4-wheel touring in the beautiful countryside of 6000 acres with scenery that you would dream about.
We also got the best massage I have ever had at the spa, also using the sauna/steam and jacuzzi. With a terrific bike for each guest, any down time allowed us to go for a site-seeing bike ride.
The food for every meal, including breakfast, lunch and dinner in the dining room was superb with an extensive menu variety and they would also prepare anything you wanted. We were also treated to a private dinner in one of the individual homes on the property and the catered food and service was THE best!!
Additionally, the homes/rooms and all facilities were of the highest quality (like Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton/Mandarin Oriental style and quality) and exceptionally decorated with all the accoutrements.
The staff was also trained at the same level of the mentioned hotels, ALWAYS offering and willing to help in any way with a pleasant and positive demeanor.
You will have a holiday there that will be a terrific lifetime memory as our family did, fully satisfying ALL ages from 68 to 48 to 14 to 13 and our friends had students aged 14 to 32 and they ALL had a GREAT time!!
Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were superb!! It is a matter of selecting based on the size of your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ranch at Rock Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranch at Rock Creek

Address: 79 Carriage House Lane, Philipsburg, MT 59858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ranch at Rock Creek 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In rugged Montana ranchland southeast of Missoula, lies The Ranch at Rock Creek-a guest ranch that brings together wide open spaces and upscale amenities like never before. Located on over 10 square miles of lush hay meadows and rolling foothills set off by distant snow-capped peaks, this stunning destination delivers a classic ranch experience in a setting far from the clamor of the big city. Families, couples and friends will discover that The Ranch at Rock Creek is a place that offers the feel of the 'true West' without sacrificing true comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ranch at Rock Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranch At Rock Creek Hotel Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch at Rock Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.